Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Havana Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A cynical gambler reluctantly comes to the aid of a mysterious beauty in this interpolation of [[Feature~V8482~Casablanca~casablanca]] and the real-life Cuban revolution. Big-stakes American gambler Jack Weil ([[Performer~P107758~Robert Redford~robertredford]]) is comfortable in the anything-goes Havana of 1958. But with [[Performer~P11761~Fidel Castro~fidelcastro]] out in the wilderness broadcasting revolutionary messages, it seems the good times may be on the way out. On a boat back to the island nation from the U.S. mainland, Weil agrees to help beautiful Bobby Duran ([[Performer~P53961~Lena Olin~lenaolin]]) smuggle in some contraband by trading vehicles with her on their way through the checkpoint. He's amused to discover not jewelry, but radio transmitters squirreled away in her car. Eventually, he learns that she's the European wife of monied Cuban communist Arturo Duran ([[Performer~P36490~Raul Julia~rauljulia]]), who believes his class and status will protect him from the ruling party. When that assumption turns out to be false, Jack finds himself sucked in by the plight of the suddenly widowed Bobby, who remains committed to her dangerous ideals. Risking his cushy lifestyle to protect Bobby from the coming tumult -- and from herself -- Jack must grapple with the dictates of his newfound conscience. With a supporting cast that includes [[Performer~P79913~Alan Arkin~alanarkin]] and [[Performer~P49071~Tomas Milian~tomasmilian]], Havana reunited director [[Performer~P106775~Sydney Pollack~sydneypollack]] with [[Performer~P107758~Redford~robertredford]] and [[Performer~P107693~David Rayfiel~davidrayfiel]], star and co-screenwriter of [[Feature~V53615~The Way We Were~thewaywewere]]. [[Performer~P107693~Rayfiel~davidrayfiel]] has also worked on a number of [[Performer~P106775~Pollack~sydneypollack]] pictures, stretching from 1969's [[Feature~V86811~Castle Keep~castlekeep]] to 1995's remake of [[Feature~V135481~Sabrina~sabrina]]. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

  • Release date:December 12, 1990

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Dave Grusin Best Original Score 1990 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dave Grusin Best Score 1990 Nominee

Cast

Robert Redford
as Jack Weil
Lena Olin
as Bobby Duran
Alan Arkin
as Joe Volpi
Tomas Milian
as Menocal
Raul Julia
as Arturo Duran
Mark Rydell
as Meyer Lansky
Daniel Davis
as Marion Chigwell
Tony Plana
as Julio Ramos
Betsy Brantley
as Diane
Lise Cutter
as Patty
Richard Farnsworth
as Professor
Vasek Simek
as Willy
Fred Asparagus
as Baby Hernandez
Richard Portnow
as Mike MacClaney
Dion Anderson
as Roy Forbes
Carmine Caridi
as Capt. Potts
James Medina
as Corporal
Joe Lala
as Cuban Businessman
Raul Rosado
as Roadblock Sergeant
Rene Monclova
as Sim #1
Anthony Bayarri
as Modest Casino Cuban
Miguel Bucarelly
as Gomez
Adriano Gonzalez
as Rebel Captain
Pepito Guerra
as Floridita Manager
Salvadore Levy
as Menocal's Lieutenant
Segundo Tarrau
as Ricardo
Sharon Velez
as Stripper #2
Tera Hendrickson
as Featured
Bernie Pollack
as Hotel Man
Victor Rivers
as Young Cuban #1
Owen Roizman
as Santos
Darlene Wynn
as Stripper
Alex Ganster
as Young Cuban
Felix German
as Tomas
Giovanna Bonnelly
as Monica
Bonita Marco
as Stripper #1
Karen Russell
as Dancer
David Gibson
as Sailor
Carlos Miranda
as Inspector #1

Crew

Sydney Pollack
Director
Paul Schrader
Screenwriter
David Rayfiel
Screenwriter
Judith Rascoe
Screenwriter
Owen Roizman
Cinematographer
Dave Grusin
Composer (Music Score)
William Steinkamp
Editor
Frederic Steinkamp
Editor
Ronald L. Schwary
Production Designer
Terence Marsh
Production Designer
Michael Seirton
Art Director
Richard A. Roth
Co-producer
Sydney Pollack
Co-producer
Ronald L. Schwary
Executive Producer
Michael Seirton
Set Designer
Bernie Pollack
Costume Designer
Peter Handford
Sound/Sound Designer
Vincent Paterson
Choreography
Advertisement