Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Youthful wizard Harry Potter returns to the screen in this, the second film adaptation of [[Performer~P302985~J.K. Rowling~jkrowling]]'s wildly popular series of novels for young people. Harry Potter ([[Performer~P299899~Daniel Radcliffe~danielradcliffe]]) and his friends Ron Weasley ([[Performer~P299719~Rupert Grint~rupertgrint]]) and Hermione Granger ([[Performer~P300014~Emma Watson~emmawatson]]) return for a second year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where Headmaster Dumbledore ([[Performer~P93538~Richard Harris~richardharris]]), Professor Snape ([[Performer~P60157~Alan Rickman~alanrickman]]), Professor McGonagall ([[Performer~P66495~Maggie Smith~maggiesmith]]), and Hagrid the Giant ([[Performer~P14336~Robbie Coltrane~robbiecoltrane]]) are joined by new faculty members Gilderoy Lockhart ([[Performer~P82784~Kenneth Branagh~kennethbranagh]]), a self-centered expert in Defense against the Dark Arts, and Sprout ([[Performer~P45420~Miriam Margolyes~miriammargolyes]]), who teaches Herbology. However, it isn't long before Harry and company discover something is amiss at Hogwarts: Students are petrified like statues, threats are written in blood on the walls, and a deadly monster is on the loose. It seems that someone has opened the mysterious Chamber of Secrets, letting loose the monster and all its calamitous powers. As Harry, Ron, and Hermione set out to find the secret chamber and slay the beast, speculation is rife that one of the heirs of Salazar Slytherin, the co-founder of the school, opened the chamber as a warning against the presence of "mudbloods" (magic-users of impure lineage) at the school -- and that the culprit may be fellow student Draco Malfoy ([[Performer~P232384~Tom Felton~tomfelton]]). Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets featured [[Performer~P93538~Richard Harris~richardharris]]' second and final appearance as Headmaster Dumbledore; he died less than a month before the film was released in the United States. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 15, 2002

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Broadcast Film Critics Association John Williams Best Composer 2002 Nominee
Broadcast Film Critics Association John Williams Best Score 2003 Winner

Cast

Daniel Radcliffe
as Harry Potter
Rupert Grint
as Ron Weasley
Emma Watson
as Hermione Granger
Kenneth Branagh
as Gilderoy Lockhart
Robbie Coltrane
as Hagrid
Richard Harris
as Albus Dumbledore
Warwick Davis
as Professor Flitwick
Richard Griffiths
as Vernon Dursley
John Cleese
as Nearly Headless Nick
Jason Isaacs
as Lucius Malfoy
Alan Rickman
as Severus Snape
Fiona Shaw
as Petunia Dursley
Maggie Smith
as Minerva McGonagall
Julie Walters
as Mrs. Weasley
Shirley Henderson
as Moaning Myrtle
Julian Glover
as Aragog the Spider
Miriam Margolyes
as Professor Sprout
Mark Williams
as Mr. Weasley
Toby Jones
as Dobby the House Elf
Bonnie Wright
as Ginny Weasley
Tom Felton
as Draco Malfoy
David Bradley
as Argus Filch
Gemma Jones
as Madam Pomfrey
Christian Coulson
as Tom Riddle
Matthew Lewis
as Neville Longbottom
Kathrin Nicholson
as Pansy Parkinson
Rik Mayall
as Peeves the Poltergeist
Robert Hardy
as Cornelius Fudge
Sean Biggerstaff
as Oliver Wood
Chris Rankin
as Percy Weasley

Crew

Chris Columbus
Director
David Heyman
Producer
J.K. Rowling
Book Author
Steve Kloves
Screenwriter
Roger Pratt
Cinematographer
John Williams
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Honess
Editor
Stuart Craig
Production Designer
Andrew Ackland-Snow
Art Director
Steve Lawrence
Art Director
John King
Art Director
Neil Lamont
Supervising Art Director
Mark Bartholomew
Art Director
Lucinda Thompson
Art Director
Peter Francis
Art Director
Tanya Seghatchian
Co-producer
Paula DuPre Pesman
Associate Producer
David Barron
Executive Producer
Michael Barnathan
Executive Producer
Mark A. Radcliffe
Executive Producer
Chris Columbus
Executive Producer
Patricia Johnson
Set Designer
Stephenie McMillan
Set Designer
Lindy Hemming
Costume Designer
John Midgley
Sound/Sound Designer
Chris Carreras
First Assistant Director
Karen Lindsay-Stewart
Casting
Nick Dudman
Makeup Special Effects
Nick Dudman
Creature Effects
Peter MacDonald
Second Unit Director
Greg Powell
Stunts Coordinator
John Richardson
Special Effects Supervisor
Advertisement