Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Harlem Nights Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P51440~Eddie Murphy~eddiemurphy]], in addition to starring as Quick, the son of 1930s Harlem gambling-house proprietor Sugar Ray ([[Performer~P107177~Richard Pryor~richardpryor]]), also wrote and directed the film. The plotline details the combined efforts of Quick and Sugar Ray to prevent white gangster Bugsy Calhoune ([[Performer~P41931~Michael Lerner~michaellerner]]) from muscling in on their operation. The supporting players include [[Performer~P24608~Redd Foxx~reddfoxx]], [[Performer~P421~Danny Aiello~dannyaiello]] and [[Performer~P29369~Jasmine Guy~jasmineguy]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 17, 1989

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Joe Tompkins Best Costume Design 1989 Nominee

Cast

Eddie Murphy
as Quick
Richard Pryor
as Sugar Ray
Redd Foxx
as Bennie Wilson
Danny Aiello
as Phil Cantone
Michael Lerner
as Bugsy Calhoune
Della Reese
as Vera
Berlinda Tolbert
as Annie
Stan Shaw
as Jack Jenkins
Jasmine Guy
as Dominique La Rue
Arsenio Hall
as Crying Man
Lela Rochon
as Sunshine
David Marciano
as Tony
Don Blakely
as Crapshooter
Gene Hartline
as Michael Kirkpatrick
George Kyle
as Man at Bugsy's
Alvin Silver
as Headwaiter
Vic Polizos
as Richie Vento
Bill Bateman
as Orderly
William Utay
as Cop
Woody Omens
as Ringside Announcer
Ji-Tu Cumbuka
as Toothless Gambler
Joe Pecoraro
as Joe Leoni
Margaret Wheeler
as Elderly Woman
Michael Buffer
as Announcer
Michael Goldfinger
as Man
Michael Stroka
as Detective Simms
Mike Genovese
as Desk Sergeant
Nick Savage
as Gambler
Reynaldo Rey
as Gambler
Robert Vento
as Bartender
Roberto Duran
as Roberto
Rudy Challenger
as Patron
Charlie Murphy
as Jimmy
Miguel A. Nuñez Jr.
as Man with Broken Nose
Rick Aiello
as Man #1
Eugene Robert Glazer
as Detective Hogan
Robin Harris
as Jerome
Steve White
as Patron
Roger E. Reid
as Crapshooter
Bobby McGee
as Gambler
Tyrone Jones
as Crapshooter
Dan Tullis, Jr.
as Crapshooter
Randy Harris
as Todo La Noche
Kathleen Bradley
as Lady
Tommy A. Ford
as Tommy Smalls
Marc Figueroa
as One of Calhoune's Boys
Clarence M. Landry
as Old Man
Desi Arnez Hines II
as Young Quick
Eddie Smith
as Driver

Crew

Eddie Murphy
Director
Eddie Murphy
Screenwriter
Woody Omens
Cinematographer
Herbie Hancock
Composer (Music Score)
Alan Balsam
Editor
George Bowers
Editor
Ralph S. Singleton
Co-producer
Robert D. Wachs
Co-producer
Mark Lipsky
Co-producer
Eddie Murphy
Executive Producer
Robert Maddy
Set Designer
George R. Nelson
Set Designer
Joe Tompkins
Costume Designer
Norman Langley
Camera Operator
Phil Caplan
Camera Operator
Robi Reed
Casting
Advertisement