Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Harlem Nights Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P51440~Eddie Murphy~eddiemurphy]], in addition to starring as Quick, the son of 1930s Harlem gambling-house proprietor Sugar Ray ([[Performer~P107177~Richard Pryor~richardpryor]]), also wrote and directed the film. The plotline details the combined efforts of Quick and Sugar Ray to prevent white gangster Bugsy Calhoune ([[Performer~P41931~Michael Lerner~michaellerner]]) from muscling in on their operation. The supporting players include [[Performer~P24608~Redd Foxx~reddfoxx]], [[Performer~P421~Danny Aiello~dannyaiello]] and [[Performer~P29369~Jasmine Guy~jasmineguy]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:November 17, 1989

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Joe Tompkins Best Costume Design 1989 Nominee

Cast

Eddie Murphy
as Quick
Richard Pryor
as Sugar Ray
Redd Foxx
as Bennie Wilson
Danny Aiello
as Phil Cantone
Michael Lerner
as Bugsy Calhoune
Della Reese
as Vera
Berlinda Tolbert
as Annie
Stan Shaw
as Jack Jenkins
Jasmine Guy
as Dominique La Rue
Arsenio Hall
as Crying Man
David Marciano
as Tony
Bobby McGee
as Gambler
Alvin Silver
as Headwaiter
Margaret Wheeler
as Elderly Woman
Michael Buffer
as Announcer
Miguel A. Nuñez Jr.
as Man with Broken Nose
Lela Rochon
as Sunshine
Robert Vento
as Bartender
Dan Tullis, Jr.
as Crapshooter
Woody Omens
as Ringside Announcer
Roberto Duran
as Roberto
Eugene Robert Glazer
as Detective Hogan
Bill Bateman
as Orderly
Marc Figueroa
as One of Calhoune's Boys
William Utay
as Cop
Ji-Tu Cumbuka
as Toothless Gambler
Roger E. Reid
as Crapshooter
Tommy A. Ford
as Tommy Smalls
Reynaldo Rey
as Gambler
Kathleen Bradley
as Lady
Don Blakely
as Crapshooter
Tyrone Jones
as Crapshooter
Gene Hartline
as Michael Kirkpatrick
Vic Polizos
as Richie Vento
Mike Genovese
as Desk Sergeant
Michael Goldfinger
as Man
George Kyle
as Man at Bugsy's
Joe Pecoraro
as Joe Leoni
Nick Savage
as Gambler
Robin Harris
as Jerome
Charlie Murphy
as Jimmy
Michael Stroka
as Detective Simms
Steve White
as Patron
Desi Arnez Hines II
as Young Quick
Randy Harris
as Todo La Noche
Eddie Smith
as Driver
Rudy Challenger
as Patron
Clarence M. Landry
as Old Man
Rick Aiello
as Man #1

Crew

Eddie Murphy
Director
Eddie Murphy
Screenwriter
Woody Omens
Cinematographer
Herbie Hancock
Composer (Music Score)
Alan Balsam
Editor
George Bowers
Editor
Robert D. Wachs
Co-producer
Mark Lipsky
Co-producer
Ralph S. Singleton
Co-producer
Eddie Murphy
Executive Producer
Robert Maddy
Set Designer
George R. Nelson
Set Designer
Joe Tompkins
Costume Designer
Norman Langley
Camera Operator
Phil Caplan
Camera Operator
Robi Reed
Casting
Advertisement