Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Happy Endings Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Three loosely interrelated stories of dysfunctional relationships are played for edgy laughs in this dark comedy drama from writer and director [[Performer~P167026~Don Roos~donroos]]. An unexpected assignation between stepsiblings Mamie and Charley results in Mamie becoming pregnant, with the child being put up for adoption shortly after birth. Twenty years later, Mamie ([[Performer~P39535~Lisa Kudrow~lisakudrow]]) is approached by Nicky ([[Performer~P7919~Jesse Bradford~jessebradford]]), an aspiring filmmaker with an abrasive personality who claims to know where her long-lost son is living. However, there's a catch -- Nicky wants to shoot the reunion for the student film he's working on, and won't tell her about her child unless she agrees, though her lover, Javier ([[Performer~P240595~Bobby Cannavale~bobbycannavale]]), attempts to work out a compromise. Meanwhile, Charley ([[Performer~P134980~Steve Coogan~stevecoogan]]), now out of the closet, has a longstanding relationship with Gil ([[Performer~P362517~David Sutcliffe~davidsutcliffe]]), and the couple are involved in a legal battle over whether or not Gil's donated sperm produced a baby who has been adopted by a lesbian couple they know ([[Performer~P18704~Laura Dern~lauradern]] and [[Performer~P300527~Sarah Clarke~sarahclarke]]). And finally, Jude ([[Performer~P29409~Maggie Gyllenhaal~maggiegyllenhaal]]) is a bohemian malcontent who becomes involved with Otis ([[Performer~P60399~Jason Ritter~jasonritter]]), a sexually ambiguous rock musician. Otis has a difficult relationship with his father, Frank ([[Performer~P2375~Tom Arnold~tomarnold]]), but when Jude meets Frank, she likes him fine -- in fact, she soon falls in love with him and leaves Otis for his dad. Happy Endings had its world premiere at the 2005 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 15, 2005

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Maggie Gyllenhaal Best Supporting Actress 2005 Nominee

Cast

Tom Arnold
as Frank
Jesse Bradford
as Nicky
Bobby Cannavale
as Javier
Sarah Clarke
as Diane
Steve Coogan
as Charley
Laura Dern
as Pam
Maggie Gyllenhaal
as Jude
Lisa Kudrow
as Marnie
Jason Ritter
as Otis
David Sutcliffe
as Gil
Emma Hunton
as Becca
Hallee Hirsh
as Mamie at 17
Kim Morgan Greene
as Connie Peppitone
Amanda Foreman
as Lane
Soledad St. Hilaire
as Dignore
Nicole Tocantins
as Tess
Eric Jungmann
as Charley at 16
Eric Jungmann
as Tom
T.R. Hopper
as Chuck Peppitone
Scott Sener
as Karaoke Guy
Caker Folley
as Lauren
Carol Androsky
as Naked Woman
Dave Beyer
as Musician #2
Tamara Davies
as Shauna
Joe Milton
as Musician #1
Lisa Hoyle
as Woman Driver
Mark Fite
as Tess's Drunk Husband
Ashleigh Darkbloom
as Rain
Ramon De Ocampo
as Alvin
Randy Landas
as Musician #3
Rayne Marcus
as Annette
Rob Macie
as Steve the Lawyer

Crew

Holly Wiersma
Producer
Michael Paseornek
Producer
Clark Mathis
Cinematographer
Nicole Tocantins
Musical Direction/Supervision
David Codron
Editor
Richard Sherman
Production Designer
Marc E. Platt
Co-producer
Bobby Cohen
Co-producer
Ali Forman
Co-producer
Laura Smith
Associate Producer
Donna Sloan
Associate Producer
Robert Melnik
Associate Producer
Tom Ortenberg
Executive Producer
Nick Meyer
Executive Producer
Mike Elliott
Executive Producer
Matthew Flood Ferguson
Set Decorator
Peggy Schnitzer
Costume Designer
Eric Tignini
First Assistant Director
Ronn Surels
Stunts
Scott Waugh
Stunts
Casey Easlick
Stunts
Nicole Basanda
Stunts
Lisa Hoyle
Stunts
Melissa Barker
Stunts
Linda Lowy
Casting
John Brace
Casting
Benjamin Patrick
Sound Mixer
Susan Bannout
Set Medic/First Aid
Bernadette Tanchauco
Production Accountant
Tom Kempf
Dolly Grip
Tracy Metro
ADR Loop Group
Vernon Scott
ADR Loop Group
Walter Thomson
Still Photographer
Ruth Zalduondo
ADR Loop Group
Ryan Collison
Foley Editor
Ryan Reasor
Production Assistant
Beatriz Baz
Driver
Sheree Morgan
Key Make-up
Stuart Stanley
Dialogue Editor
Peter Waggoner
Re-Recording Mixer
Ron Shino
Assistant Location Manager
Charlynne Hopson
Location Manager
Chris Culliton
Best Boy Electric
Chris Friebus
Camera Loader
Chris Libby
Unit Publicist
Bree Bailey
Personal Assistant
Brian Yonck
Set Production Assistant
Carl Pedregal
Post Production Supervisor
Alaine Alldaffer
Casting Associate
Keith R. Gunthorpe
Extra Casting
David Arnott
ADR Loop Group
Shawn Williamson
Set Production Assistant
John Carbonara
Music Editor
Jon Kuyper
Line Producer
Jon Kuyper
Unit Production Manager
Jordan Otis
Production Assistant
Andy Kris
Re-Recording Mixer
Joseph Taggart
Driver
Karen Gorodetsky
Production Supervisor
Katherine Fisher
First Assistant Editor
Kathleen Kasinger
Properties Master
Kay Majerus
Key Hairstylist
Kelly Clear
Gaffer
Kenneth Strain
Boom Operator
Keven Hale Simmons
Driver
Kirk Huston
Transportation Captain
Hope Garrison
Second Assistant Director
Amy Roos
Personal Assistant
Jacqueline Aronson
Costumes Supervisor
James Uribe
Assistant Production Coordinator
Jason Newton
Grip
Jennifer Hwang
Post Production Coordinator
Jeremy Crane
Production Secretary
Jody Bingenheimer
Driver
Lindsay Chag
Additional Casting
Merdyce McClaran
Assistant Properties
Michael Betts
Casting Assistant
Lorin Flemming
Assistant Art Director
LouAnn Wu
Set Production Assistant
Mark Agostino
Recording
Meghan Glennon
Assistant Location Manager
Noelle Penraat
Negative Cutter
Noon Orsatti
Stunts Coordinator
Pat Golden
Extra Casting
Mike Baber
Music Editor
Nancy Cabrera
Foley Artist
Natasha Walsh
Costume/Wardrobe
Geno Hart
Transportation Coordinator
Gentle Jungle
Animal Trainer/Wrangler
Glenn Fishel
Key Grip
Doug Burch
ADR Loop Group
David Randolph
ADR Loop Group
Carlos M. Serrano
Driver
Laura D. Smith
Personal Assistant
Colby Enders
Assistant Editor
Coll Anderson
Sound Effects Editor
Advertisement