Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Hallelujah, I'm a Bum Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P36019~Al Jolson's~aljolson]] "comeback" picture Hallelujah, I'm a Bum is an offbeat Depression-era concoction with script by [[Performer~P93876~Ben Hecht~benhecht]] and S.N. Behrmann and music and lyrics by [[Performer~P108630~Richard Rodgers~richardrodgers]] and [[Performer~P93605~Lorenz Hart~lorenzhart]]. Jolson plays a genial hobo who wanders happily around Central Park, neither seeking nor accepting honest employment. He is imbued with a sense of responsibility when he rescues pretty [[Performer~P22278~Madge Evans~madgeevans]] from committing suicide. Evans, suffering from amnesia, falls in love with Jolson, completely forgetting her "regular" beau, mayor [[Performer~P50579~Frank Morgan~frankmorgan]]. When she regains her memory she heads back to Morgan, leaving Jolson sadder but wiser, and prompting him back to his carefree existence. Much of the dialogue is spoken in rhyme, in the manner of an operetta--though there's nothing Romberg-like about such lyrical phrases as "Hoover's Cossacks." Former silent-film comedy star [[Performer~P98694~Harry Langdon~harrylangdon]] has some choice moments as Egghead, a communist streetcleaner, while composers Rodgers and Hartshow up in unbilled cameos. Because the word "Bum" has different connotations in different lands, this film was released in England as Hallelujah, I'm a Tramp. The reissue version, titled Heart of a Tramp, has been severely re-edited, doing considerable damage to the carefully interwoven rhyming dialogue. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Al Jolson
as Bumper
Madge Evans
as June Marcher
Frank Morgan
as Mayor Hastings
Harry Langdon
as Egghead
Chester Conklin
as Sunday
Tyler Brooke
as Mayor's secretary
Tammany Young
as Orlando
Bert Roach
as John
Dorothea Wolbert
as Apple Mary
Louise Carver
as Ma Sunday
Burr McIntosh
Richard Rodgers
as Photograper's assistant

Crew

Lewis Milestone
Director
Lewis Milestone
Producer
Joseph M. Schenck
Producer
Ben Hecht
Screenwriter
S.N. Behrmann
Screenwriter
Lucien Andriot
Cinematographer
Alfred Newman
Composer (Music Score)
Alfred Newman
Musical Direction/Supervision
Richard Rodgers
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Rodgers
Songwriter
Duncan Mansfield
Editor
Richard Day
Art Director
Advertisement