Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench Details

  • Release Date: Nov 05, 2010
  • Rated:
  • Runtime: 1 hr. 22 min.
  • Genres: Drama, Music/Performing Arts, Romance
  • Cast:Frank Garvin, Andre Hayward.

FULL SYNOPSIS

For his feature debut, writer-director [[Performer~P619261~Damien Chazelle~damienchazelle]] has fashioned a contemporary musical, shot in 16 mm black-and-white on the streets of Boston and New York. During the film's opening credits, we learn that Guy (professional musician [[Performer~P640588~Jason Palmer~jasonpalmer]]), a trumpet player, and Madeline ([[Performer~P624305~Desiree Garcia~desireegarcia]]), a grad student looking for work, have broken up. The film then flashes back briefly to show how Guy's dalliance with Elena ([[Performer~P624306~Sandha Khin~sandhakhin]]), an outgoing young woman he met on the subway, caused the breakup. The film follows Guy and Madeline as they try to make their way, post-breakup. Guy continues to play his gigs, though Elena doesn't seem quite as interested in his music as Madeline was. Madeline finds a job at the Summer Shack restaurant, pines for Guy, but eventually decides to leave Boston for New York. Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench features music by [[Performer~P624312~Justin Hurwitz~justinhurwitz]] and a score recorded by the Bratislava Symphony Orchestra. [[Performer~P619261~Chazelle~damienchazelle]], who is also a jazz drummer (he appears briefly in the film), originally made the film as a short for his senior thesis at Harvard, where he studied under documentary filmmaker [[Performer~P352611~Robb Moss~robbmoss]]. [[Performer~P619261~Chazelle~damienchazelle]] and his cast and crew worked on the film for three years, as financing permitted, to expand it into a feature. Guy and Madeline on a Park Bench had its world premiere at the 2009 Tribeca Film Festival, where it was shown in the Discovery section. ~ Josh Ralske, Rovi

  • Release date:November 5, 2010

Cast

Frank Garvin
as Frank
Andre Hayward
as Andre

Crew

Advertisement