Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Guilty by Suspicion Details


The directorial debut of producer [[Performer~P117063~Irwin Winkler~irwinwinkler]], Guilty by Suspicion is a sobering account of one movie executive's woes in dealing with the political fallout from the McCarthy Era Hollywood blacklist. [[Performer~P17593~Robert De Niro~robertdeniro]] stars as David Merrill, a film director in the 1950s whose obsession with his burgeoning career has estranged him from his wife Ruth ([[Performer~P5346~Annette Bening~annettebening]]) and their son. When he returns from a trip to Paris, Merrill is surprised when told by his boss, Darryl F. Zanuck ([[Performer~P56644~Ben Piazza~benpiazza]]) that he's been summoned to appear before the House Un-American Activities Committee, which is investigating Communist ties to Hollywood. Although Merrill once attended a meeting years before, he's not a Communist, and he refuses to help the committee wreck the career of his friend Bunny Baxter ([[Performer~P75525~George Wendt~georgewendt]]). Merrill becomes blacklisted, unable to find work even in menial positions or under assumed names as the editor of a B-movie or the director of a low-budget Western. Reconciled with his family, Merrill caves in and agrees to testify, but as he prepares to "name names," his conscience plagues him. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:March 15, 1991


Robert De Niro
as David Merrill
Annette Bening
as Ruth Merrill
George Wendt
as Bunny Baxter
Patricia Wettig
as Dorothy Nolan
Sam Wanamaker
as Felix Graff
Martin Scorsese
as Joe Lesser
Luke Edwards
as Paulie Merrill
Chris Cooper
as Larry Nolan
Ben Piazza
as Darryl Zanuck
Barry Primus
as Bert Alan
Gailard Sartain
as Chairman Wood
Robin Gammell
as Sen. Tavenner
Brad Sullivan
as Congressman Velde
Tom Sizemore
as Ray Karlin
Roxann Biggs
as Felicia Barron
Stuart Margolin
as Abe Barron
Barry Tubb
as Jerry Cooper
Gene Kirkwood
as Gene Woods
Margo Winkler
as Leta Rosen
Allan Rich
as Leonard Marks
Illeana Douglas
as Nan
Stephen Root
as RKO Guard
Claude Rauvier
as Claude Rowan
Ben Dinsdale
as Maurice
Cindy Carey
as Party Guest
F.J. O'Neil
as Ad Agency Executive
Jon Tenney
as Man Shopper
Martin Arsenault
as Waiter
John Horn
as Mike Rainey
Robert Chimento
as A.D.
Nicholas Cilic
as Matt Nolan
Marion Dougherty
Al Ruscio
as Ben Saltman
Bill Bailey
as Fox Guard
Adam Baldwin
as FBI Man
Dianne Reeves
as Singer
Russell Bobbitt
as Propmaster
Joe Bennett
as Choreographer
Monica Carrico
as Nelly Lesser
Kevin Page
as 2nd FBI Man
Natalie Zimmerman
as Woman on Buckboard
Maurice Marciano
as Costume Designer
Paul Collins
as Bernard
Tom Rosqui
as Norman
Brant Van Hoffman
as Stanley
James Mathers
as Director
Cecile Callan
as Wife Shopper
Jonathan Ames
as Cabbie


Irwin Winkler
Irwin Winkler
Arnon Milchan
Irwin Winkler
Michael Ballhaus
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Richard Lightstone
Musical Direction/Supervision
Leslie Dilley
Production Designer
Leslie McDonald
Art Director
Alan C. Blomquist
Nelson McCormick
Associate Producer
Steven E. Reuther
Executive Producer
Nancy Haigh
Set Designer
Richard Bruno
Costume Designer
David M. Dunlap
Camera Operator
Marion Dougherty