Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Guest in the House Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A Guest in the House is an involving psychological melodrama, well directed and acted, concerning a young woman's obsessive love. Evelyn ([[Performer~P4663~Anne Baxter~annebaxter]]), an emotionally vulnerable and unstable woman, stays at the home of her doctor Dan Proctor ([[Performer~P47660~Scott McKay~scottmckay]]). There she meets and falls in love with his brother, Douglas ([[Performer~P5165~Ralph Bellamy~ralphbellamy]]), who is happily married to Ann ([[Performer~P74804~Ruth Warrick~ruthwarrick]]). Evelyn then sets forth to break up the happy marriage and win the love of Douglas -- with tragic results. A Guest in the House directed by [[Performer~P82771~John Brahm~johnbrahm]], aided by [[Performer~P87228~Andre De Toth~andrédetoth]] and [[Performer~P102806~Lewis Milestone~lewismilestone]], who are uncredited, is a sensitive, well-acted melodrama. Baxter gives a fine performance as the unstable young woman, who cannot overcome her obsessions. The fine musical score, composed by [[Performer~P95877~Werner Janssen~wernerjanssen]], was nominated for an Academy Award. ~ Linda Rasmussen, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Werner Janssen Best Score - Drama or Comedy 1945 Nominee

Cast

Anne Baxter
as Evelyn Heath
Ralph Bellamy
as Douglas Proctor
Aline MacMahon
as Aunt Martha
Ruth Warrick
as Ann Proctor
Jerome Cowan
as Mr. Hackett
Marie McDonald
as Miriam
Percy Kilbride
as John the Butler
Margaret Hamilton
as Hilda the Maid
Murray Alper
as Sgt. Kriven
Stanley Prager
as Glinka
Dickie Moore
as Zip West
John Archer
as Carter
Ray Collins
as Deckman West
Ruth Nelson
as Nell West
William Eythe
as Quizz West
Michael O'Shea
as Sgt. Mulveroy
Blake Edwards
as Soldier
Vincent Price
as Marion

Crew

John Brahm
Director
Hunt Stromberg
Producer
Hagar Wilde
Play Author
Lee Garmes
Cinematographer
Werner Janssen
Composer (Music Score)
Nicolai Remisoff
Production Designer
Advertisement