Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Groomsmen Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Five longtime friends enjoy a few days of celebratory carousing as they try to forget their adult responsibilities in this slice-of-life comedy drama from director/writer/actor [[Performer~P9698~Edward Burns~edwardburns]]. Paulie ([[Performer~P9698~Burns~edwardburns]]) is a working-class guy from Long Island who has learned that his longtime girlfriend ([[Performer~P200519~Brittany Murphy~brittanymurphy]]) is pregnant, and he decides he should do the right thing and marry her. Paulie has asked several of his best friends to stand with him at the wedding, and shortly before the big day, they get together at a local watering hole to give Paulie a proper send-off. Over the course of a weekend, the guys knock back a lot of beer, play a little softball, swat some golf balls, head out fishing and share their thoughts, with each man having some unresolved baggage to deal with. While Paulie is excited about his upcoming marriage, he's scared of how parenthood will change his life. His older brother, Jimbo ([[Performer~P42995~Donal Logue~donallogue]]), has been arguing with his wife and spending his time in topless bars, but inside he's worried about the fact his wife hasn't been able to get pregnant, and he's convinced it's his fault. Des ([[Performer~P196768~Matthew Lillard~matthewlillard]]) is a seemingly happy husband and father, but he seems to be more interested in getting his old rock band back together than spending time with his family. Mike ([[Performer~P215840~Jay Mohr~jaymohr]]) wants to settle down and have kids, but he can't imagine doing so with any woman other than the girl who dumped him some time ago. And while T.C. ([[Performer~P41614~John Leguizamo~johnleguizamo]]) goes out of his way to like one of the guys, he doesn't have the nerve to tell his best friends that he's gay. The Groomsmen received its world premiere at the 2006 Tribeca Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:July 14, 2006

Crew

Edward Burns
Director
Edward Burns
Producer
Margot Bridger
Producer
Aaron Lubin
Producer
Philippe Martinez
Producer
Edward Burns
Screenwriter
William Rexer II
Cinematographer
Tracy McKnight
Musical Direction/Supervision
James Kirkpatrick
Editor
Dina Goldman
Production Designer
Alan Latham
Executive Producer
Walter Josten
Executive Producer
Karinne Behr
Executive Producer
Catherine Marie Thomas
Costume Designer
Benjamin Cheah
Sound/Sound Designer
Laura Rosenthal
Casting
Ali Farrell
Casting
Advertisement