Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Grindhouse Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Feature~V280648~Kill Bill~killbillvol1]] director [[Performer~P113658~Quentin Tarantino~quentintarantino]] and [[Feature~V303869~Sin City~sincity]] director [[Performer~P151002~Robert Rodriguez~robertrodriguez]] join forces to offer a cinematic tribute to the blood-soaked exploitation epics of yesteryear with this hyper-violent coupling of two full-length features punctuated by a collection of outrageous trailers. The first segment, directed by [[Performer~P151002~Rodriguez~robertrodriguez]] and entitled [[Feature~V397268~Planet Terror~planetterror]], details the violent struggle between a ravenous army of zombie-like humanoids who have taken control of the planet and the remaining survivors who refuse to go down without a fight. [[Performer~P199234~Freddy Rodriguez~freddyrodriguez]], [[Performer~P1729~Naveen Andrews~naveenandrews]], and [[Performer~P47490~Rose McGowan~rosemcgowan]] headline a cast that also includes [[Performer~P65128~Marley Shelton~marleyshelton]], [[Performer~P6111~Michael Biehn~michaelbiehn]], [[Performer~P8657~Josh Brolin~joshbrolin]], [[Performer~P76618~Bruce Willis~brucewillis]], and [[Performer~P110003~Tom Savini~tomsavini]]. In [[Feature~V397299~Death Proof~deathproof]] -- director [[Performer~P113658~Tarantino~quentintarantino]]'s take on such peddle-to-the-metal shockers as [[Feature~V54313~White Line Fever~whitelinefever]] -- [[Performer~P62232~Kurt Russell~kurtrussell]] stars as an engine-revving psychopath who prefers to take out his beautiful victims at 200 mph. With a list of potential roadkill candidates that includes [[Performer~P47490~Rose McGowan~rosemcgowan]], [[Performer~P223301~Jordan Ladd~jordanladd]], [[Performer~P199028~Rosario Dawson~rosariodawson]], and [[Performer~P302670~Vanessa Ferlito~vanessaferlito]], [[Feature~V397299~Death Proof~deathproof]] takes viewers on an adrenaline-infused drive that's as sexy as it is shocking. Its tantalizing title borrowed from the term frequently used to describe the seedy, 1970s-era inner-city movie theaters that screened excessive, low-budget independent films containing copious amounts of violence and nudity as a means of offering counter-programming to the decidedly more restrained big-budget studio films, Grindhouse takes its love for these unabashedly sleazy efforts one step further by offering a jaw-dropping collection of fake exploitation trailers from such directors as [[Performer~P328451~Rob Zombie~robzombie]], [[Performer~P355297~Eli Roth~eliroth]], and [[Performer~P203553~Edgar Wright~edgarwright]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 6, 2007

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Austin Film Critics Robert Rodriguez Austin Film Award 2007 Winner
Austin Film Critics Quentin Tarantino Austin Film Award 2007 Winner

Cast

Rose McGowan
as Cherry (Planet Terror)
Freddy Rodriguez
as Wray (Planet Terror)
Josh Brolin
as Dr. William Block (Planet Terror)
Marley Shelton
as Dakota (Planet Terror)
Jeff Fahey
as JT (Planet Terror)
Michael Biehn
as Sheriff Hague (Planet Terror)
Kurt Russell
as Stunt Man Mike (Death Proof)
Rosario Dawson
as Abernathy (Death Proof)
Tracie Thoms
as Kim (Death Proof)
Zoe Bell
as Zoe (Death Proof)
Vanessa Ferlito
as Arlene
Sydney Tamiia Poitier
as Jungle Julia
Mary Elizabeth Winstead
as Lee

Crew

Robert Rodriguez
Director
Quentin Tarantino
Director
Quentin Tarantino
Screenwriter
Robert Rodriguez
Screenwriter
Mary Ramos
Musical Direction/Supervision
Advertisement