Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Gridiron Gang Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The true story of the football team that proved sometimes second chances can make a difference comes to the screen in director [[Performer~P96103~Phil Joanou~philjoanou]]'s tale of self-respect and social responsibility on the gridiron. Sean Porter ([[Performer~P292998~The Rock~therock]]) is a detention camp probation officer who oversees the inmates at Camp Kilpatrick in Los Angeles and isn't willing to simply write off the violent offenders who have been placed in his care. Though their prospects for the future are decidedly bleak, Porter is convinced that if he can just get through to his adolescent inmates they may finally be able to turn their lives around and make amends for the mistakes of their past. When Porter's proposal of forming a high-school-level football team at Camp Kilpatrick meets with skepticism and resistance in the highest ranks, the determined coach puts his career on the line to prove that even convicted criminals can acquire the tools needed to build a brighter future when given the proper motivation and the means of doing so. Inspired by filmmaker [[Performer~P304980~Jac Flanders~jacflanders]]' 1993 documentary of the same name, Gridiron Gang features a screenplay penned by [[Feature~V24644~In the Line of Fire~inthelineoffire]] scribe [[Performer~P100769~Jeff Maguire~jeffmaguire]], and features a supporting cast that includes [[Performer~P60360~Leon Rippy~leonrippy]], [[Performer~P20623~Kevin Dunn~kevindunn]], and Detroit-born rapper-turned-actor [[Performer~P329058~Xzibit~xzibit]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:September 15, 2006

Cast

The Rock
as Sean Porter
Jade Yorker
as Willie Weathers
Xzibit
as Malcolm Moore
Leon Rippy
as Paul Higa
Kevin Dunn
as Dexter
David Thomas
as Calvin Owens
Setu Taase
as Junior Palaita
Maurice McRae
as Leon Hayes
Jamal Mixon
as Evans
Vanessa Ferlito

Crew

Phil Joanou
Director
Neal H. Moritz
Producer
Lee Stanley
Producer
Jeff Maguire
Screenwriter
Jeff Cutter
Cinematographer
Trevor Rabin
Composer (Music Score)
Joel Negron
Editor
Floyd Albee
Production Designer
Amanda Cohen
Co-producer
Ryan Kavanaugh
Executive Producer
Shane Stanley
Executive Producer
Lynwood Spinks
Executive Producer
Michael Rachmil
Executive Producer
Aric Cheng
Set Designer
Sanja Milkovic Hays
Costume Designer
Erin Morache
Set Decorator
Kenneth McLaughlin
Sound/Sound Designer
Sarah Halley Finn
Casting
Randi Hiller
Casting
Skip Lievsay
Supervising Sound Editor
Kelly Kerby
Special Effects Coordinator
Allan Graf
Stunts Coordinator
Advertisement