Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Gremlins Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

"Don't expose him to bright light. Don't ever get him wet. And don't ever, ever feed him after midnight." This sage advice is ignored midway through Gremlins, with devastating results. This comic [[Performer~P16940~Joe Dante~joedante]] effort is set in a Norman Rockwell-esque small town at Christmastime. Seeking a unique gift for his son an erstwhile inventor ([[Performer~P3003~Hoyt Axton~hoytaxton]]) purchases a cute, fuzzy little "Mogwai" from a Chinatown shopkeeper's ([[Performer~P43719~Keye Luke~keyeluke]]) grandson (John Louie), who dispenses the above-mentioned warning before closing the deal. Meanwhile, young bank clerk Billy Peltzer ([[Performer~P25651~Zach Galligan~zachgalligan]]) must suffer such antagonists as rich-bitch Mrs. Deagle ([[Performer~P32854~Polly Holliday~pollyholliday]]) and priggish Gerald ([[Performer~P107897~Judge Reinhold~judgereinhold]]) while pursuing his romance with Kate ([[Performer~P11791~Phoebe Cates~phoebecates]]). These and a variety of other plot strands are tied together when the lovable mogwai (named Gizmo) is exposed to bright light and gotten wet. In short order, the town is invaded by nasty, predatory Gremlins, who lay waste to everything in sight as Billy and Kate try to contain the destruction. Like most of [[Performer~P16940~Joe Dante~joedante]]'s works, Gremlins is chock-full of significant cameo appearances: in this instance, such pop-culture icons as [[Performer~P49213~Dick Miller~dickmiller]], [[Performer~P36347~Jackie Joseph~jackiejoseph]], [[Performer~P96300~Chuck Jones~chuckjones]], [[Performer~P8005~Scott Brady~scottbrady]], Harry Carey Jr., [[Performer~P112325~Steven Spielberg~stevenspielberg]] (the film's executive producer) and even Robby the Robot all show up briefly on screen. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:June 8, 1984

Cast

Zach Galligan
as Billy
Hoyt Axton
as Rand Peltzer
Frances Lee McCain
as Lynn Peltzer
Phoebe Cates
as Kate
Polly Holliday
as Mrs. Deagle
Scott Brady
as Sheriff
Glynn Turman
as Hanson
Corey Feldman
as Pete
Keye Luke
as Grandfather
Judge Reinhold
as Gerald
Jonathan Banks
as Dep. Brent
Edward Andrews
as Corben
Steven Spielberg
as Man in Electric Wheelchair (uncredited)
Michael Sheehan
as Special Vocal Effects
Jackie Joseph
as Mrs. Futterman
Chuck Jones
as Mr. Jones
Fred Newman
as Special Vocal Effects
Susan Arnold
James MacKrell
as Lew Landers
Michael Winslow
as Special Vocal Effects
Jim McKrell
as Lew Landers
Howie Mandel
as Gizmo
Harry Carey, Jr.
as Mr. Anderson
Dick Miller
as Mr. Futterman
Lois Foraker
as Bank Teller
Arnie Moore
as Pete's Father
Nicky Katt
as School Children
Donald Elson
as Man on Street
Peter Cullen
as Special Vocal Effects
Frank Welker
as Special Vocal Effects
Belinda Balaski
as Mrs. Harris

Crew

Joe Dante
Director
Michael Finnell
Producer
Chris Columbus
Screenwriter
John Hora
Cinematographer
Jerry Goldsmith
Composer (Music Score)
Tina Hirsch
Editor
James Spencer
Production Designer
Frank Marshall
Executive Producer
Kathleen Kennedy
Executive Producer
Steven Spielberg
Executive Producer
Jackie Carr
Set Decorator
Chris Walas
Special Effects
Rosemary Johnston
Stunts
Susan Arnold
Casting
Warren Hamilton
Sound Editor
Richard L. Anderson
Supervising Sound Editor
Phil Rawlins
Unit Production Manager
Terry J. Leonard
Stunts Coordinator
Advertisement