Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Green Lantern Details


A test pilot embraces his destiny as a cosmic superhero in director Martin Campbell's adaptation of the popular DC Comics series. Ever since he saw his fearless father perish in a tragic aviation mishap, all Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds) could think about was flying -- it was the only thing the brash, cocky, and irresponsible test pilot ever truly excelled at. Little did he realize he was destined for something much bigger. Somewhere out in space, a powerful force of evil known as Parallax is spreading fear and destruction; the only hope for defeating Parallax is the Green Lantern Corps, a group of intergalactic warriors powered by the force of will. When legendary Green Lantern Abin Sur (Temuera Morrison) is sent hurtling toward planet Earth after a deadly encounter with Parallax, his ring chooses Hal to continue the fight. The ring spirits our hero away to the Green Lantern's home planet of Oa for training. The first human ever to receive the honor of becoming a Green Lantern, Hal is viewed with scorn by the league's leader, Sinestro (Mark Strong), who trains him alongside the hulking Kilowog (voice of Michael Clarke Duncan). Later, on planet Earth, frail scientist Hector Hammond (Peter Sarsgaard) becomes infected with Parallax's evil while performing an autopsy on Abin Sur, and uses his newfound powers to stake claim on Carol Ferris (Blake Lively), Hal's lifelong friend and fellow test pilot. When Hal learns that Parallax plans to consume all life on Earth to gain the energy needed to conquer Oa, he begins looking inward for the courage to defeat the malevolent force and embrace his destiny as a super-powered peacekeeper. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:June 17, 2011


Ryan Reynolds
as Hal Jordan/Green Lantern
Blake Lively
as Carol Ferris
Peter Sarsgaard
as Hector Hammond
Mark Strong
as Sinestro
Tim Robbins
as Senator Hammond
Jay O. Sanders
as Carl Ferris
Taika Waititi
as Tom Kalmaku
Angela Bassett
as Dr. Waller
Mike Doyle
as Jack Jordan
Gattlin Griffith
as Young Hal
Jon Tenney
as Martin Jordan
Leanne Cochran
as Janice Jordan
Temuera Morrison
as Abin Sur
Jeff Wolfe
as Bob Banks
Deke Anderson
as Four Star General Caven
Griff Furst
as UCAV Operator #1
Ritchie Montgomery
as Bunker Doctor
Douglas M. Griffin
as DEO Agent #1
Kenneth Brown Jr.
as Avionics Tech #1
Silas Cooper
as Avionics Tech #2
Dane Rhodes
as Ferris Security Guard
Laura Cayouette
as Party Guest #1
Bernard Hocke
as Party Guest #2
Michael Jamorski
as Football Jock
Geoffrey Rush
as Tomar-Re
Michael Clarke Duncan
as Kilowog
Warren Burton
as First Guardian
Salome Jens
as Female Guardian
Clancy Brown
as Parallax
Tiffany Morgan
as Mom
Sharon Morris
as Bus Driver
Lance E. Nichols
as Cop


Martin Campbell
Greg Berlanti
Donald De Line
Michael Goldenberg
Marc Guggenheim
Screen Story
Marc Guggenheim
Greg Berlanti
Screen Story
Greg Berlanti
Dion Beebe
James Newton Howard
Composer (Music Score)
Stuart Baird
Grant Major
Production Designer
Ian McFadyen
Art Director
Andrew L. Jones
Art Director
Scott Plauche
Art Director
François Audouy
Supervising Art Director
Geoff Johns
Andrew Haas
Executive Producer
Herbert W. Gains
Executive Producer
Jeff Markwith
Set Designer
Alex McCarroll
Set Designer
Sam Page
Set Designer
William Hunter
Set Designer
Ngila Dickson
Costume Designer
Anne Kuljian
Set Decorator
Dino R. Dimuro
Sound/Sound Designer
Peter Staubli
Sound/Sound Designer
Scott Martin Gershin
Sound/Sound Designer
Bruce G. Moriarty
First Assistant Director
Sony Pictures Imageworks
Pam Dixon Mickelson
Neville Page
Creature Design
Herbert W. Gains
Unit Production Manager
Rod Ortega
Hair Styles
Sony Pictures Imageworks
Visual Effects
Pud Cusack
Production Sound Mixer
Christopher Rouse
Additional Editing
Brad Minnich
Visual Effects Editor
John Mahaffie
Second Unit Director
Heather Mages
Key Make-up
John Reitz
Re-Recording Mixer
Neri Kyle Tannenbaum
Unit Production Manager
Gregg Rudloff
Re-Recording Mixer
Dan Hegeman
Sound Effects Editor
Clay Pinney
Special Effects Supervisor
Miller Drake
Visual Effects Editor
Joel Harlow
Makeup Special Effects
Craig Jaeger
Sound Effects Editor
Per Hallberg
Supervising Sound Editor
Felicity Bowring
Department Head Makeup
Crys Forsyth-Smith
Visual Effects Producer
Sara Flamm
Production Supervisor
David Schaub
Supervising Animator
Kent Houston
Visual Effects Supervisor
Alex Bicknell
Visual Effects Producer
Peter Nofz
Digital Effects
Catherine Marcotte
Key Hairstylist
Jim Berney
Visual Effects Supervisor
Elaine Offers
Rick Kline
Re-Recording Mixer
David Dupuis
Makeup Special Effects
Steve Rhee
Assistant Editor
Anna Rane
Script Supervisor