Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Great Raid Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P86568~John Dahl~johndahl]] directed this war drama based on the true story of one of the most daring military actions of World War II. In the waning days of World War II, [[Performer~P44113~General Douglas MacArthur~douglasmacarthur]] chose to make good on a pledge that he made in 1942 -- that he would return to the Philippines after he and his troops were forced to retreat. However, [[Performer~P44113~MacArthur~douglasmacarthur]]'s determination was more than a matter of pride. Over 500 American soldiers were being held in Cabanatuan, a notoriously brutal prisoner of war camp in the Philippines operated by the Japanese army, and [[Performer~P44113~MacArthur~douglasmacarthur]] wanted to see to it that they made it home. [[Performer~P44113~MacArthur~douglasmacarthur]] chose Lt. Col. Henry Mucci ([[Performer~P8157~Benjamin Bratt~benjaminbratt]]) to lead the Sixth Ranger Battalion on a mission 30 miles behind enemy lines to infiltrate Cabanatuan and liberate the American prisoners. With the help of Capt. Prince ([[Performer~P299361~James Franco~jamesfranco]]), Mucci leads his men on a life-or-death raid against forces known for their savagery. The Great Raid was based on [[Performer~P385855~William B. Breuer~williambbreuer]]'s book The Great Raid on Cabanatuan: Rescuing the Doomed Ghosts of Bataan and Corregidor, and also stars [[Performer~P239372~Joseph Fiennes~josephfiennes]], [[Performer~P52655~Connie Nielsen~connienielsen]], and [[Performer~P223046~Marton Csokas~martoncsokas]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 12, 2005

Cast

Benjamin Bratt
as Lt. Colonel Mucci
James Franco
as Captain Prince
Connie Nielsen
as Margaret Utinsky
Joseph Fiennes
as Major Gibson
Marton Csokas
as Captain Redding
Robert Mammone
as Captain Fisher
Natalie Mendoza
as Mina
Cesar Montano
as Pajota
Kenny Doughty
Craig McLachlan
Max Martini
as Sid 'Top' Wojo
James Carpinello
Sam Worthington
Mark Consuelos

Crew

John Dahl
Director
Lawrence Bender
Producer
Martin F. Katz
Producer
Carlo Bernard
Screenwriter
Doug Miro
Screenwriter
Hampton Sides
Book Author
Peter Menzies, Jr.
Cinematographer
Trevor Rabin
Composer (Music Score)
Pietro Scalia
Editor
Scott Chestnut
Editor
Bruno Rubeo
Production Designer
Bill Booth
Supervising Art Director
Michael Rumpf
Art Director
Anthony Winley
Co-producer
Mark Turnbull
Associate Producer
Michelle Raimo
Executive Producer
Harvey Weinstein
Executive Producer
Bob Weinstein
Executive Producer
Jonathan Gordon
Executive Producer
Mitch Cass
Set Designer
Lizzy Gardiner
Costume Designer
Rolland Pike
Set Decorator
Paul "Salty" Brincat
Sound/Sound Designer
Mark Turnbull
First Assistant Director
Bonnie Timmermann
Casting
Bruce Stubblefield
Supervising Sound Editor
Darko Tuskan
Stunts Coordinator
Mark Turnbull
Assistant Director
Vic Armstrong
Second Unit Director
Viv Mepham
Hair Styles
Viv Mepham
Makeup
Advertisement