Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Great New Wonderful Details


A collection of everyday New Yorkers struggle to carry on with their increasingly stressful lives a year after the city was forever changed by the 9/11 terrorist attacks in Brooklyn-native Danny Leiner's ensemble-cast slice of life. Dr. Trabulous (Tony Shalhoub) is a gifted psychologist with a special knack for truly understanding his patients. When an ordinary businessman (Jim Gaffigan) who has witnessed a terrible office tragedy seeks to gain the insight of the seasoned professional, Dr. Trabulous helps to release a hidden rage that has slowly been eating away at the man's troubled soul. Meanwhile, in the culinary world, Great New Wonderful pastry shop proprietor Emme Keeler (Maggie Gyllenhaal) is about to discover that unseating the woman known as the Queen of Cake (Edie Falco) doesn't come without some heavy consequences. Elsewhere in the city, troubled couple Allison (Judy Greer) and David Burbage (Tom McCarthy) fight to save their marriage and break through to their curiously overconfident ten-year-old boy. Avi (Naseeruddin Shah) and Satish (Sharat Saxena) are immigrants and best friends who work together as security guards and wander the city making observations about contemporary America until their opposing perspectives are challenged by an unexpected development in their lives that neither saw coming. And despite the comfort she takes in her daily routine, Julie Berman (Olympia Dukakis) discovers that her passion for life has long since died, until a visit with a childhood friend helps her to realize just what she's been missing all these lonely years. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:June 23, 2006


Maggie Gyllenhaal
as Emme Keeler
Olympia Dukakis
as Judy Berman
Judy Greer
as Allison Burbage
Naseeruddin Shah
as Avi
Tony Shalhoub
as Dr. Trabulous
Jim Gaffigan
as Sandy
Sharat Saxena
as Satish
Edie Falco
as Safarah Polsky
Thomas McCarthy
as David Burbage
Stephen Colbert
as Mr. Peersall
Billy Donner
as Charlie
Will Arnett
as Danny


Danny Leiner
Danny Leiner
Matt Tauber
Leslie Urdang
Sam Catlin
Harlan Bosmajian
John Swihart
Composer (Music Score)
Robert Frazen
Laura Ballinger-Gardner
Production Designer
Nick Goodwin-Self
Daniel Swee
Jesse Scolaro
Michael Nozik
Executive Producer
Michael Hoffman
Executive Producer
Rajinder Singh
Executive Producer
CC Lagator
Executive Producer
Amy Robinson
Executive Producer
Victor Bardack
Executive Producer
Damon Martin
Executive Producer
Alysia Raycraft
Costume Designer
Griffin Richardson
Sound/Sound Designer
Daniel Swee