Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Grayeagle Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Grayeagle is a barely disguised reworking of [[Performer~P208413~John Ford~johnford]]'s [[Feature~V43376~The Searchers~thesearchers]], with Ford stock company alumnus [[Performer~P236361~Ben Johnson~benjohnson]] essaying the [[Performer~P116130~John Wayne~johnwayne]] role, and [[Performer~P77329~Lana Wood~lanawood]] playing a character not unlike the one portrayed by her sister [[Performer~P77340~Natalie~nataliewood]] in the earlier film. The major difference is that Grayeagle is told largely from the Indians' point of view. [[Performer~P96145~Johnson~johnson]] plays John Colter, who devotes his life to tracking down Cheyenne brave Grayeagle ([[Performer~P14950~Alex Cord~alexcord]]), the kidnapper of his daughter Beth ([[Performer~P77329~Lana Wood~lanawood]]). One of the new plot wrinkles is the revelation that Cheyenne Chief Running Wolf ([[Performer~P23743~Paul Fix~paulfix]]), and not Colter, is Beth's real father, so who's rescuing whom from what? Other veteran performers participating in Grayeagle are [[Performer~P21467~Jack Elam~jackelam]] and [[Performer~P13889~Iron Eyes Cody~ironeyescody]], while producer-director-writer [[Performer~P106456~Charles Pierce~chuckpierce]] also shows up in a small role. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Ben Johnson
as John Colter
Iron Eyes Cody
as Standing Bear
Lana Wood
as Beth Colter
Jack Elam
as Trapper Willis
Paul Fix
as Running Wolf
Alex Cord
as Grayeagle
Jimmy Clem
as Abe Stoud
Charles B. Pierce
as Bugler
Blackie Wetzell
as Medicine Man
Cindy Butler
as Ida Colter

Crew

Charles B. Pierce
Director
Charles B. Pierce
Producer
Charles B. Pierce
Screenwriter
Jim Roberson
Cinematographer
Jaime Mendoza-Nava
Composer (Music Score)
Jim Roberson
Editor
Bud Davis
First Assistant Director
Advertisement