Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Good Hair Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In the movie [[Feature~V43136~School Daze~schooldaze]], [[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]] staged a dance number in which two bands of African-American college students debated the merits of "Straight and Nappy" hair in song, and now comedian [[Performer~P60918~Chris Rock~chrisrock]] and filmmaker [[Performer~P345246~Jeff Stilson~jeffstilson]] have extended the conversation to a full-length film in this witty documentary with serious undertones. [[Performer~P60918~Rock~chrisrock]] says he was inspired to make the film when his young daughter asked him, "Daddy, how come I don't have good hair?" and he and [[Performer~P345246~Stilson~jeffstilson]] examine black America's obsession with their hair as they visit the Bronner Brothers International Hair Show, an annual trade show for the African-American hair care industry which includes fierce competitions among stylists from around the country and demonstrations of new hair products and techniques. Along the way, [[Performer~P60918~Rock~chrisrock]] also talks to a number of African-American luminaries about their hair issues (including Maya Angelou, the [[Performer~P64884~Rev. Al Sharpton~alsharpton]], [[Performer~P43114~Nia Long~nialong]], [[Performer~P240814~Raven Symone~ravensymone]], [[Performer~P34312~Ice-T~icet]], and [[Performer~P103356~Paul Mooney~paulmooney]]), researches the dangers of many common hair-straightening treatments, reveals the surprising expense of regular hair "relaxing" and weaves, and ponders what the pursuit of straight hair says about African-American cultural identity. Good Hair received its world premiere at the 2009 Sundance Film Festival. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:October 9, 2009

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Writers Guild of America Jeff Stilson Best Documentary Screenplay 2009 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Lance Crouther Best Documentary Screenplay 2009 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Chris Rock Best Documentary Screenplay 2009 Nominee
Writers Guild of America Chuck Sklar Best Documentary Screenplay 2009 Nominee
Advertisement