Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Goodbye Charlie Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P80271~George Axelrod's~georgeaxelrod]] Goodbye Charlie flopped on Broadway with [[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]] in the lead, but fared a little better as a film vehicle for [[Performer~P59782~Debbie Reynolds~debbiereynolds]]. Charlie ([[Performer~P44491~Harry Madden~harrymadden]]) is an inveterate philanderer who is shot dead by jealous husband [[Performer~P46456~Walter Matthau~waltermatthau]]. Through a celestial fluke, Charlie's soul enters the well-rounded body of [[Performer~P59782~Debbie Reynolds~debbiereynolds]]. In this form, Charlie/Debbie seeks to settle old scores with her murderer as well as several other enemies. As if these aren't complications enough, Charlie's best friend [[Performer~P199612~Tony Curtis~tonycurtis]] falls in love with Debbie, knowing full well that Debbie isn't really Debbie. If you liked Goodbye Charlie once, you'll love it twice: [[Performer~P88685~Blake Edwards~blakeedwards]] retooled the whole megillah for [[Performer~P3957~Ellen Barkin~ellenbarkin]], added a trendy feminist underlining, and came up with [[Feature~V48196~Switch~switch]] (1991). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Tony Curtis
as George Tracy
Debbie Reynolds
as Charlie Sorel (Female)
Pat Boone
as Bruce Minton
Joanna Barnes
as Janie
Ellen Burstyn
as Franny
Walter Matthau
as Sir Leopold Sartori
Laura Devon
as Rusty
Martin Gabel
as Norton Craft
Roger C. Carmel
as Inspector
Michael Romanoff
as Patron
Anthony Eustrel
as Butler
Donna Michelle
as Guest on Yacht
Myrna Hansen
as Starlet
Jack Richardson
as Party Guest
Harry Madden
as Charlie Sorel (Male)
Jerry Dunphy
as TV Newscaster
James Brolin
Sydney Guilaroff
as Patrons at Beauty Salon

Crew

Vincente Minnelli
Director
David Weisbart
Producer
George Axelrod
Play Author
Harry Kurnitz
Screenwriter
Milton Krasner
Cinematographer
Andre Previn
Songwriter
Andre Previn
Composer (Music Score)
Dory Langdon
Songwriter
Richard Day
Art Director
Jack Martin Smith
Art Director
Keogh Gleason
Set Designer
Walter Scott
Set Designer
Helen Rose
Costume Designer
Elmer Raguse
Sound/Sound Designer
Advertisement