Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Good Fairy Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P68972~Margaret Sullavan~margaretsullavan]] graduates from a girl's orphanage to an usherette's job at a Budapest movie theatre. Bibulous millionaire [[Performer~P50579~Frank Morgan~frankmorgan]] makes a play for Margaret, but she keeps him at arm's length by picking a name from the phone book and insists that that's the name of her husband. The man chosen at random is attorney [[Performer~P45795~Herbert Marshall~herbertmarshall]], who can't understand why Morgan has taken a sudden interest in him. Morgan offers Marshall a huge contract in hopes that Margaret will be "exchanged", but the truth comes out to everyone's satisfaction. Adapted from a [[Performer~P218045~Ferenc Molnar~ferencmolnar]] play by [[Performer~P113144~Preston Sturges~prestonsturges]] (who added a hilarious movie-within-a-movie in which the "stars" emote by speaking in one-syllable sentences), Good Fairy was remade as the [[Performer~P20750~Deanna Durbin~deannadurbin]] vehicle [[Feature~V96132~I'll Be Yours~illbeyours]] (47). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Margaret Sullavan
as Luisa "Lu" Ginglebusher
Herbert Marshall
as Dr. Max Sporum
Frank Morgan
as Konrad
Reginald Owen
as Detlaff
Alan Hale
as Schlapkohl
Beulah Bondi
as Dr. Schultz
Eric Blore
as Dr. Metz
Al Bridge
as Doorman
Cesar Romero
as Joe
June Clayworth
as Actress
George Davis
as Chauffeur
Hugh O'Connell
as Gas Collector
Luis Alberni
as Barber

Crew

William Wyler
Director
Preston Sturges
Screenwriter
Ferenc Molnar
Play Author
Dan Mandell
Editor
Advertisement