Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Gold Diggers of Broadway Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Previously filmed in 1923, [[Performer~P217526~Avery Hopwood~averyhopwood]]'s 1920 comedy [[Feature~V93445~The Gold Diggers~thegolddiggers]] was resurrected in 1929 as the Technicolor musical Gold Diggers of Broadway. [[Performer~P75389~Nancy Welford~nancywelford]], [[Performer~P42380~Winnie Lightner~winnielightner]] and [[Performer~P55941~Ann Pennington~annpennington]] stars as Jerry, Mable and Ann, three chorus girls who try to entice a wealthy backer to put his money in their cash-poor Broadway show. Stuffy Stephen Lee ([[Performer~P70159~Conway Tearle~conwaytearle]]) shows up to rescue his brother Wally ([[Performer~P3468~William Bakewell~williambakewell]]) from the heroine's clutches, only to succumb to the girls' charms himself. According to contemporary reviews, the show was stolen by [[Performer~P42380~Winnie Lightner~winnielightner]] as the brassiest of the three gold-diggers, and by crooner [[Performer~P43604~Nick Lucas~nicklucas]], performing his signature tune Tiptoe Through the Tulips. The other big number from the film, Painting the Clouds with Sunshine, served as the title for the 1951 remake of Gold Diggers of Broadway, which in the interim had been filmed as the more famous [[Feature~V20140~Gold Diggers of 1933~golddiggersof1933]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Conway Tearle
as Stephen Lee
Ann Pennington
as Ann Collins
Lilyan Tashman
as Eleanor
William Bakewell
as Wally
Helen Foster
as Violet
Albert Gran
as Blake
Gertrude Short
as Topsy
Neely Edwards
as Stage Manager
Julia Swayne Gordon
as Cissy Gray
Lee Moran
as Dance Director
Armand Kaliz
as Barney Barnett

Crew

Roy Del Ruth
Director
Robert Lord
Screenwriter
Avery Hopwood
Play Author
Alexis Dubin
Songwriter
Larry Ceballos
Choreography
Advertisement