Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Girl 6 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]] directed this comedy-drama about a woman who falls into a career in phone sex. An African-American woman ([[Performer~P58737~Theresa Randle~theresarandle]]) who aspires to a career as an actress endures a number of dispiriting jobs (handing out leaflets and working as a coat check girl) before reaching the end of her rope at an audition with Q.T. ([[Performer~P113658~Quentin Tarantino~quentintarantino]]), a sleazy movie director. Q.T. claims that he wants to offer her a role in his next film -- but since the role requires nudity, she will have to show him her breasts first. After firing her agent, the actress is strapped for cash and is offered a job enacting sexual fantasies for men over the phone. Dubbed "Girl 6" by her employers, the actress is treated with respect by her boss ([[Performer~P42222~Jennifer Lewis~jeniferlewis]]) and is well-liked by her co-workers. However, she has a hard time emotionally distancing herself from her work, and she finds herself becoming infatuated with Bob ([[Performer~P5586~Peter Berg~peterberg]]), one of her regular callers, going so far as to set up a meeting with him. As she deals in other people's fantasies for a living, Girl 6 begins retreating into her own world of make-believe, where she can be a sexy screen siren or a butt-kicking blaxploitation star. Meanwhile, her former fiancé ([[Performer~P198280~Isaiah Washington~isaiahwashington]]), who scrapes by as a shoplifter, desperately wants her to give him another chance, and her next door neighbor, a baseball card collector named Jimmy ([[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]]), keeps pestering her that she ought to be doing something more positive with her life. Girl 6's supporting cast includes [[Performer~P100711~Madonna~madonna]] as one of Girl 6's supervisors, [[Performer~P114771~John Turturro~johnturturro]] as her agent, and [[Performer~P46770~Debi Mazar~debimazar]] as one of the other phone-sex girls; the film also features an original song score by [[Performer~P107105~Prince~prince]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Suzan-Lori Parks Best First Screenplay 1996 Nominee

Cast

Theresa Randle
as Girl 6
Isaiah Washington
as Shoplifter
Spike Lee
as Jimmy
Jenifer Lewis
as Boss #1 (Lil)
Debi Mazar
as Girl 39
Peter Berg
as Caller #1 (Bob)
Quentin Tarantino
as Director #1, N.Y.
Coati Mundi
as Caller 8, Martin
Anthony Nocerino
as Caller 6
Vinny Vella
Joe Taylor
Nelson Vasquez
as Ronnie the Guard
Naomi Campbell
as Girl 75
Novella Nelson
as Angela's Aunt
Halle Berry
as Herself
Ranjit Chowdhry
as Indian Shopkeeper
John Turturro
as Murray, the Agent
John Cameron Mitchell
as Rob
Chuck Jeffreys
as Bad Guy
Billie Neal
as Angela's Mother
Maggie Rush
as Girl 42
Kristen Wilson
as Salesgirl #1
Susan Batson
as Acting Coach
Michael Imperioli
as Scary Caller #30
Leonard Thomas
as Co-Agent
Richard Belzer
as Caller 4, Beach
Joie Lee
as Switchboard Operator
Ron Silver
as Director #2, L.A.
Golden Brooks
Jeff Ward
as Bad Guy
Rita Wolf
as Wife of Indian Shopkeeper
Madonna
as Boss #3
Larry Pine
as Caller 33, Wall Street

Crew

Spike Lee
Director
Spike Lee
Producer
Suzan-Lori Parks
Screenwriter
Malik Hassan Sayeed
Cinematographer
Prince
Composer (Music Score)
Prince
Songwriter
Sam Pollard
Editor
Ina Mayhew
Production Designer
Cirri Nottage
Associate Producer
Jon Kilik
Executive Producer
Paul Weathered
Set Designer
Sandra Hernandez
Costume Designer
Allan Byer
Sound/Sound Designer
John Lyons
First Assistant Director
Aisha Coley
Casting
Advertisement