Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Girl 6 Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]] directed this comedy-drama about a woman who falls into a career in phone sex. An African-American woman ([[Performer~P58737~Theresa Randle~theresarandle]]) who aspires to a career as an actress endures a number of dispiriting jobs (handing out leaflets and working as a coat check girl) before reaching the end of her rope at an audition with Q.T. ([[Performer~P113658~Quentin Tarantino~quentintarantino]]), a sleazy movie director. Q.T. claims that he wants to offer her a role in his next film -- but since the role requires nudity, she will have to show him her breasts first. After firing her agent, the actress is strapped for cash and is offered a job enacting sexual fantasies for men over the phone. Dubbed "Girl 6" by her employers, the actress is treated with respect by her boss ([[Performer~P42222~Jennifer Lewis~jeniferlewis]]) and is well-liked by her co-workers. However, she has a hard time emotionally distancing herself from her work, and she finds herself becoming infatuated with Bob ([[Performer~P5586~Peter Berg~peterberg]]), one of her regular callers, going so far as to set up a meeting with him. As she deals in other people's fantasies for a living, Girl 6 begins retreating into her own world of make-believe, where she can be a sexy screen siren or a butt-kicking blaxploitation star. Meanwhile, her former fiancé ([[Performer~P198280~Isaiah Washington~isaiahwashington]]), who scrapes by as a shoplifter, desperately wants her to give him another chance, and her next door neighbor, a baseball card collector named Jimmy ([[Performer~P99175~Spike Lee~spikelee]]), keeps pestering her that she ought to be doing something more positive with her life. Girl 6's supporting cast includes [[Performer~P100711~Madonna~madonna]] as one of Girl 6's supervisors, [[Performer~P114771~John Turturro~johnturturro]] as her agent, and [[Performer~P46770~Debi Mazar~debimazar]] as one of the other phone-sex girls; the film also features an original song score by [[Performer~P107105~Prince~prince]]. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Independent Spirit Awards Suzan-Lori Parks Best First Screenplay 1996 Nominee

Cast

Theresa Randle
as Girl 6
Isaiah Washington
as Shoplifter
Spike Lee
as Jimmy
Jenifer Lewis
as Boss #1 (Lil)
Debi Mazar
as Girl 39
Peter Berg
as Caller #1 (Bob)
Quentin Tarantino
as Director #1, N.Y.
Naomi Campbell
as Girl 75
Madonna
as Boss #3
Joie Lee
as Switchboard Operator
Vinny Vella
Larry Pine
as Caller 33, Wall Street
Michael Imperioli
as Scary Caller #30
Leonard Thomas
as Co-Agent
Joe Taylor
Coati Mundi
as Caller 8, Martin
Maggie Rush
as Girl 42
Golden Brooks
Novella Nelson
as Angela's Aunt
Billie Neal
as Angela's Mother
Rita Wolf
as Wife of Indian Shopkeeper
Chuck Jeffreys
as Bad Guy
Halle Berry
as Herself
Richard Belzer
as Caller 4, Beach
Jeff Ward
as Bad Guy
Anthony Nocerino
as Caller 6
Ranjit Chowdhry
as Indian Shopkeeper
Kristen Wilson
as Salesgirl #1
Nelson Vasquez
as Ronnie the Guard
John Turturro
as Murray, the Agent
Ron Silver
as Director #2, L.A.
John Cameron Mitchell
as Rob
Susan Batson
as Acting Coach

Crew

Spike Lee
Director
Spike Lee
Producer
Suzan-Lori Parks
Screenwriter
Malik Hassan Sayeed
Cinematographer
Prince
Composer (Music Score)
Prince
Songwriter
Sam Pollard
Editor
Ina Mayhew
Production Designer
Cirri Nottage
Associate Producer
Jon Kilik
Executive Producer
Paul Weathered
Set Designer
Sandra Hernandez
Costume Designer
Allan Byer
Sound/Sound Designer
John Lyons
First Assistant Director
Aisha Coley
Casting
Advertisement