Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

A Girl in Every Port Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The rampant male chauvinism in [[Feature~V19821~A Girl in Every Port~agirlineveryport]] might be hard for contemporary audiences to stomach, but fans of director [[Performer~P93764~Howard Hawks~howardhawks]] will be delighted. [[Performer~P47783~Victor McLaglen~victormclaglen]] and [[Performer~P2301~Robert Armstrong~robertarmstrong]] play Spike and Salami, two sailors who become close pals but only after dukeing it out over a dame. Together, Spike and Salami travel all of the world in search of women and adventure and women. Their friendship is sorely tested when Spike decides to settle down to marry French fortune hunter Marie ([[Performer~P8798~Louise Brooks~louisebrooks]]), but eventually Salami convinces his pal that this "skirt" just ain't worth it. Famed exotic dancer [[Performer~P58692~Sally Rand~sallyrand]] co-stars as one of the heroes' many sexual conquests. [[Feature~V19821~A Girl in Every Port~agirlineveryport]] was remade two years later as [[Feature~V93537~Goldie~goldie]], with [[Performer~P71578~Spencer Tracy~spencertracy]], [[Performer~P34258~Warren Hymer~warrenhymer]] and [[Performer~P30456~Jean Harlow~jeanharlow]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Victor McLaglen
as Spike Madden
Robert Armstrong
as Salami
Louise Brooks
as Mademoiselle Godiva
Natalie Joyce
as Girl in Panama
Natalie Kingston
as Girl in South Sea Islands
Caryl Lincoln
as Girl from Liverpool
Myrna Loy
as Jetta
Gladys Brockwell
as Madame Flore
William Demarest
as Man in Bombav
Francis McDonald
as Gang Leader
Leila Hyams
as The Sailors Wife

Crew

Howard Hawks
Director
William Fox
Producer
Seton Miller
Screenwriter
Ralph Dixon
Editor
Advertisement