Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Ginger & Rosa Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Rebellious London teens Ginger and Rosa find their friendship tested against the backdrop of the Cuban Missile Crisis in this period drama from writer/director [[Performer~P106934~Sally Potter~sallypotter]] ([[Feature~V313721~Yes~yes]], [[Feature~V480907~Rage~rage]]). The year is 1962. As the international dispute between the Soviet Union and the U.S. threatens to cast a shadow over the entire world, Ginger ([[Performer~P360006~Elle Fanning~ellefanning]]) seeks solace in the arts as Rosa ([[Performer~P710829~Alice Englert~aliceenglert]]) favors such distractions as cigarettes and boys. Meanwhile, as the bond between the two girls is strengthened by their shared disdain for their respective mothers, Ginger's free-spirited father Roland ([[Performer~P228583~Alessandro Nivola~alessandronivola]]) encourages his daughter to protest while sparking a twinkle in the eye of smitten Rosa. But for Ginger, the pain of her parents' breakup becomes too much to endure, eventually driving her into the company of a compassionate gay couple ([[Performer~P67069~Timothy Spall~timothyspall]] and[[Performer~P57054~Oliver Platt~oliverplatt]]) and their good friend Bella ([[Performer~P5346~Annette Bening~annettebening]]), a poet. As the future of mankind begins to look increasingly grim, Ginger and Rosa both realize that the days of their friendship might be numbered whether the world ends in nuclear annihilation or life continues on as usual. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:March 15, 2013

Crew

Sally Potter
Director
Andrew Litvin
Producer
Sally Potter
Screenwriter
Robbie Ryan
Cinematographer
Anders Refn
Editor
Carlos Conti
Production Designer
Jonas Allen
Co-producer
Michael Weber
Co-producer
Peter Bose
Co-producer
Lene Bausager
Co-producer
Paula Alvarez Vaccaro
Executive Producer
Joe Oppenheimer
Executive Producer
Heidi Levitt
Executive Producer
Reno Antoniades
Executive Producer
Jean-Paul Mugel
Sound/Sound Designer
Irene Lamb
Casting
Heidi Levitt
Casting
Advertisement