Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Ghosts of Berkeley Square Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Firmly in the fantasy groove previously plowed by such films as [[Feature~V154402~The Canterville Ghost~thecantervilleghost]] and [[Feature~V50036~The Time of Their Lives~thetimeoftheirlives]] is the 1947 British comedy The Ghosts of Berkeley Square. [[Performer~P50731~Robert Morley~robertmorley]] and [[Performer~P1275~Felix Aylmer~felixaylmer]] play a pair of fatuous Colonel Blimp military types, whose efforts to shorten the war results only in getting the both of them killed. Summoned to a Heavenly court, Morley and Aylmer incur the wrath of Queen Anne. She orders them to haunt a mansion until they can prove themselves worthy of entering the Pearly Gates. For a film that practically no one has ever heard of, Ghosts of Berkeley Square is an embarrassment of riches in the casting department: among the British favorites appearing in the film are [[Performer~P33986~Martita Hunt~martitahunt]], A.E. Mathews, [[Performer~P31313~James Hayter~jameshayter]], [[Performer~P70488~Ernst Thesiger~ernstthesiger]], and [[Performer~P34232~Wilfred Hyde-White~wilfridhydewhite]]. The film was based on the novel [[Feature~V127796~No Nightingales~nightingales]] by [[Performer~P174325~Caryl Brahms~carylbrahms]] and [[Performer~P176706~S.J. Simon~sjsimon]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Felix Aylmer
as Col. Kelsoe
Madge Brindley
as Matron
James Hayter
as Capt. Dodds
Claude Hulbert
as Merryweather
Martita Hunt
as Lady Mary
Mary Jerrold
as Lettie
Edward Lexy
as Brigadier
Marie Lohr
as Lottie
Robert Morley
as Gen. Burlap
Abraham Sofaer
as Disraeli
Ernst Thesiger
as Investigator
Aubrey Mallalieu
as Butler
Martin Miller
as Professor
Esme Percy
as Vizier
Mary Martlew
as Maybella
Anthony Marlowe
as Speaking Red Indian
Wilfrid Hyde-White
as Staff Captain
Wally Patch
as Foreman
Harry Fine
as 1914 Colonel
Strelsa Brown
as Rajah's Amazon Attendant
Tom Walls
as Provost Marshal

Crew

Vernon Campbell Sewell
Director
Caryl Brahms
Book Author
Moray Grant
Cinematographer
Ernest Palmer
Cinematographer
Hans May
Composer (Music Score)
Jim Groom
Sound/Sound Designer
Denis Johnson
First Assistant Director
Moray Grant
Camera Operator
Henry Hayward
Makeup
Advertisement