Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Gettysburg Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The Pulitzer Prize-winning novel The Killer Angels by [[Performer~P314722~Michael Shaara~michaelshaara]] becomes this sprawling historical epic. As in [[Performer~P314722~Shaara~michaelshaara]]'s novel, director [[Performer~P101809~Ronald Maxwell~ronaldfmaxwell]] focuses on a handful of major players to dramatize the events of July 1863, when the armies of the Union and Confederacy clash at the small Pennsylvania town of the title. Among them are [[Performer~P111083~Martin Sheen~martinsheen]] as General Robert E. Lee, who disagrees with his top advisor, General James Longstreet ([[Performer~P5539~Tom Berenger~tomberenger]]) over battle strategy, and [[Performer~P16881~Jeff Daniels~jeffdaniels]] as Colonel Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain, a college professor whose unorthodox techniques save the day (and possibly the war) for his beleaguered army. Other cast standouts include [[Performer~P96397~Richard Jordan~richardjordan]] in his final film appearance as the ill-fated General Lewis Armistead, and cameo roles for Civil War buff [[Performer~P83608~Ken Burns~kenburns]] and media mogul producer [[Performer~P298626~Ted Turner~tedturner]]. Filmed on-location at Gettysburg National Military Park, Gettysburg was shot as a television miniseries for [[Performer~P298626~Turner~tedturner]]'s TNT cable channel, but earned a limited theatrical release. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

Cast

Martin Sheen
as Robert E. Lee
Jeff Daniels
as Colonel Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain
Tom Berenger
as Lieutenant General James Longstreet
Stephen Lang
as Maj.Gen.George E. Pickett
Richard Jordan
as Brigadier General Lewis A.Armistead
Maxwell Caulfield
as Colonel Strong Vincent
Kevin Conway
as Sergeant "Buster" Kilrain
C. Thomas Howell
as Lieutenant Thomas D. Chamberlain
James Lancaster
as Lieutenant Colonel Arthur Fremantle
Andrew Prine
as Brigadier General Richard B.Garnett
Sam Elliott
as Brigadier General John Buford
Royce D. Applegate
as Brigadier General James L.Kemper
Brian Mallon
as Major General Winfield Scott Hancock
John Diehl
as Private Bucklin
John Rothman
as Major General John F.Reynolds
Leonard Termo
as Cpl. George F. Estabrook
Michael Phillips
as Soldier #4 20th Maine
MacIntyre Dixon
as Major General Jubal A.Early
George Lazenby
as Brigadier General J.Johnston Pettigrew
Joy Todd
Scott Allan Campbell
as Capt. Atherton W. Clark
Cooper Huckabee
as Henry T.Harrison
Mark Moses
as Sgt. Owen
James Patrick Stuart
as Colonel E. Porter Alexander
Bill Campbell
as Lieutenant Pitzer
Joseph Fuqua
as Major General Jeb Stuart
Warren Burton
as Major General Henry Heth
Richard Anderson
as Maj. Gen. George G. Meade
Kieran Mulroney
as Major G.Moxley Sorrel
John Durant
as Fiddle and Guitar Player
Bo Brinkman
as Major Walter H.Taylor
Dwier Brown
as Captain Brewer
Patrick Gorman
as Major General John Bell Hood
Alex Harvey
as Major Hawkins
Ivan Kane
as Captain Thomas J.Goree
Ken Burns
as Hancock's Aide
Buck Taylor
as Col. William Gamble
David Carpenter
as Colonel Thomas C.Devin
Ted Turner
as Lieutenant Colonel W.T. Patton
Timothy Scott
as Lieutenant General Richard S Ewell
Donal Logue
as Captain Ellis Spear
William Morgan Sheppard
as Maj. Gen. Isaac R. Trimble
Herb Mitchell
as Sergeant Andrew J. Tozier
Peter Miller
as Pender's Courier

Crew

Mace Neufeld
Producer
Moctesuma Esparza
Producer
Michael Shaara
Book Author
Eddy van der Enden
Cinematographer
Kees Van Oostrum
Cinematographer
Randy Edelman
Composer (Music Score)
Corky Ehlers
Editor
Cary White
Production Designer
Michael T. Boyd
Costume Designer
Stephen Halbert
Sound/Sound Designer
Joy Todd
Casting
Advertisement