Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Get Bruce! Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

This is a documentary portrait of a Hollywood comedy writer cited by many of entertainment's biggest stars as their comedic "secret weapon." [[Performer~P73531~Bruce Vilanch~brucevilanch]] is a rotund, hirsute New Jersey native who left a job at a Chicago newspaper in the 1970s to become a gag writer for singer and actress [[Performer~P102748~Bette Midler~bettemidler]]. After toiling for several years in the dying genre of television variety shows and celebrity roasts, Vilanch became a staple of awards shows, scripting one-liners and song parodies at the Oscars, Emmys, and Grammys, for such luminaries as [[Performer~P116900~Robin Williams~robinwilliams]], [[Performer~P86318~Billy Crystal~billycrystal]], and [[Performer~P27431~Whoopi Goldberg~whoopigoldberg]]. All three of those stars, and many others, are interviewed about Vilanch's contributions to their work. Of particular note is a national controversy sparked by Vilanch's "off-color" racial remarks written for [[Performer~P16938~Ted Danson~teddanson]] and Goldberg at a Friar's Club event, and his memorable riffs for emcee Crystal on the one-armed push-ups of [[Performer~P54755~Jack Palance~jackpalance]] at an Oscar telecast. Get Bruce! made Vilanch a more recognizable figure to mainstream audiences, and he became a regular on the TV game show revival of Hollywood Squares. ~ Karl Williams, Rovi

  • Release date:September 17, 1999
Advertisement