Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Genevieve Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The plot of the thoroughly captivating British comedy Genevieve can be summed up in a sentence: Two young couples participate in the Vintage Car Rally, a yearly race from London to Brighton. The title "character" is the 1904 Darracq auto owned by [[Performer~P28690~John Gregson~johngregson]] and [[Performer~P65209~Dinah Sheridan~dinahsheridan]]. The couple's friendly rivals are [[Performer~P50486~Kenneth More~kennethmore]] and [[Performer~P37658~Kay Kendall~kaykendall]], the latter graduating to stardom on the basis of this film. At first treating the race as a lark, the two couples become increasingly--and hilariously--competitive as they near the finishing line. Among the film's plethora of small pleasures are [[Performer~P28700~Joyce Grenfell~joycegrenfell]] as a wry hotel proprietress and [[Performer~P77288~Arthur Wontner~arthurwontner]] as an elderly car fancier. Despite the many technical gaffes and continuity errors overlooked by director [[Performer~P85927~Henry Cornelius~henrycornelius]], Genevieve is a uniquely British delight from beginning to end, its charm enhanced by the uncredited harmonica score of American expatriate [[Performer~P391~Larry Adler~larryadler]]. The film was a moneymaker in every country that it played, and a multi-award winner in England and abroad. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:January 18, 1954

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Muir Mathieson Best Drama or Comedy Score 1954 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Henry Cornelius Best British Film 1953 Winner

Cast

John Gregson
as Alan McKim
Dinah Sheridan
as Wendy McKim
Kenneth More
as Ambrose Claverhouse
Kay Kendall
as Rosalind Peters
Geoffrey Keen
as Policeman
Harold Siddons
as Second Speed Cop
Joyce Grenfell
as Hotel proprietress
Arthur Wontner
as Elderly Gentleman
Michael Balfour
as Conductor
Leslie Mitchell
as Himself
Reginald Beckwith
as Motorist
Michael Medwin
as Husband

Crew

Henry Cornelius
Director
Henry Cornelius
Producer
Christopher G. Challis
Cinematographer
Clive Donner
Editor
Advertisement