Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The General Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P82431~John Boorman~johnboorman]], who won the 1998 Cannes Film Festival's Direction award for this film, previously won the same Cannes award almost three decades earlier for his [[Feature~V99279~Leo the Last~leothelast]] (1969) about an alienated aristocrat in a London slum. Shot in widescreen color (but printed in sharp black-and-white), The General is a biographical portrait of ruthless Irish crime lord Martin Cahill, shot down outside his home by a single assassin on August 18, 1994. After this opening, the film then unfolds as a lengthy flashback of the events that led to his death, sketching in the raw beginnings of the youthful Martin ([[Performer~P228596~Eamonn Owens~eamonnowens]] of [[Feature~V153054~The Butcher Boy~thebutcherboy]]) and moving into the Dublin slum of Hollyfield to show the adult Cahill ([[Performer~P27217~Brendan Gleeson~brendangleeson]]) and his link to a local cop, Inspector Ned Kenny ([[Performer~P115561~Jon Voight~jonvoight]]). Various thefts enable Cahill to support his wife Frances ([[Performer~P199098~Maria Doyle Kennedy~mariadoylekennedy]]), his four children, and his sister-in-law Tina ([[Performer~P3567~Angeline Ball~angelineball]]). As the years pass, Cahill rises as a mobster, bamboozling cops, constructing airtight alibis, pulling off a near-impossible jewel heist, and setting up a menage a trois with Frances and Tina. (Both actresses were seen previously in [[Performer~P105602~Alan Parker~alanparker]]'s [[Feature~V10547~The Commitments~thecommitments]]). ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:December 18, 1998

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Seamus Deasy Best Cinematography (Runner-up) 1998 Winner
Los Angeles Film Critics Association John Boorman Best Director (Runner-up) 1998 Winner
Cannes Film Festival John Boorman Best Director 1998 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards John Boorman Best Foreign Film 1998 Nominee

Crew

John Boorman
Director
John Boorman
Producer
John Boorman
Screenwriter
Seamus Deasy
Cinematographer
Richie Buckley
Composer (Music Score)
Ron Davis
Editor
Derek Wallace
Production Designer
Betsy Davis
Executive Producer
Kieran Corrigan
Executive Producer
P.J. Pettitte
Executive Producer
Maeve Paterson
Costume Designer
Brendan Deasy
Sound/Sound Designer
Kevan Barker
First Assistant Director
Jina Jay
Casting
Advertisement