Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Garden of the Moon Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

The Garden of the Moon is a fancy New York nightclub owned by [[Performer~P53289~Pat O'Brien~patobrien]]. [[Performer~P42527~Margaret Lindsay~margaretlindsay]] (replacing a recalcitrant [[Performer~P17295~Bette Davis~bettedavis]]) is the girl who comes between O'Brien and his bandleader, [[Performer~P219974~John Payne~johnpayne]]. The duplicitous O'Brien spends most of his screen time figuring out various underhanded means to keep Payne from breaking his contract--and to keep Ms. Lindsay for himself. Though directed by [[Performer~P81568~Busby Berkeley~busbyberkeley]], Garden of the Moon is surprisingly shy of dance numbers. Its musical highlight is that [[Feature~V175154~Looney Tunes~looneytunes[animatedseries]]] standard "The Girlfriend of the Whirling Dervish," with vocal solos by [[Performer~P219974~John Payne~johnpayne]], [[Performer~P17372~Johnnie "Scat" Davis~johnniedavis]], and [[Performer~P14313~Jerry Colonna~jerrycolonna]]. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Pat O'Brien
as John Quinn
Margaret Lindsay
as Toni Blake
John Payne
as Don Vincente
Melville Cooper
as Maurice
Isabel Jeans
as Mrs. Lornay
Mabel Todd
as Mary Stunton
Dick Purcell
as Rick Fulton
Penny Singleton
as Miss Calder
Curt Bois
as Maharajah of Sand
Granville Bates
as Angus McGillicuddy
Edward McWade
as Peter McGillicudy
Ray Mayer
as Musician
Jerry Colonna
as Musician

Crew

Busby Berkeley
Director
Jerry Wald
Screenwriter
Richard Macaulay
Screenwriter
Tony Gaudio
Cinematographer
Leo F. Forbstein
Musical Direction/Supervision
Harry Warren
Composer (Music Score)
Harry Warren
Songwriter
Johnny Mercer
Songwriter
Alexis Dubin
Songwriter
George J. Amy
Editor
Howard Shoup
Costume Designer
Advertisement