Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

From Russia With Love Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

From Russia With Love, the second in the series of [[Feature~V158529~James Bond~jamesbond[filmseries]]] films, is the film that solidifies all the [[Feature~V158529~Bond~jamesbond[filmseries]]] film elements into a formula -- the action sequences are intensified and lend greater tension to the proceedings; [[Performer~P232001~John Barry~johnbarry]]'s inimitable score makes its first appearance; and [[Performer~P10646~Sean Connery~seanconnery]] as Bond has nailed down his role as 007 -- accentuating Bond's stylishness and sophistication, while toning down his cold-bloodedness. In From Russia With Love, the bad guys don't want to take over the world. They want something more mundane -- a Russian decoding device. Assigned to the mission of stealing the decoding device are No. 3, former KGB agent Rosa Klebb ([[Performer~P41824~Lotte Lenya~lottelenya]]), and No. 5, Kronsteen ([[Performer~P65278~Vladek Sheybal~vladeksheybal]]), an expert chess player who has plotted every move of the mission. Kronsteen's plan requires using Bond's weakness for women as an element in acquiring the decoding device. Once Bond obtains the decoding device from Russian cipher clerk Tatiana Romanova ([[Performer~P6063~Daniela Bianchi~danielabianchi]]), SPECTRE muscleman Red Grant ([[Performer~P111051~Robert Shaw~robertshaw]]) is to forcibly take it from Bond and kill him. But Bond suspects a trap. Being Bond, however, he can't resist the lure of a beautiful woman. So, flaunting danger, Bond travels to Istanbul to meet Tatiana. The centerpiece of this 007 feature is the thrilling fight to the death between Bond and enemy agent Red Grant aboard the Orient Express. ~ Paul Brenner, Rovi

  • Release date:April 8, 1963

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Ted Moore Best Color Cinematography 1963 Winner

Cast

Sean Connery
as James Bond
Pedro Armendáriz
as Kerim Bey
Robert Shaw
as Red Grant
Bernard Lee
as M
Eunice Gayson
as Sylvia
Walter Gotell
as Morzeny
George Pastell
as Train Conductor
Nadja Regin
as Kerim's Girl
Lois Maxwell
as Miss Moneypenny
Neville Jason
as Kerim's Chauffeur
Peter Bayliss
as Benz
Desmond Llewelyn
as Maj. Boothroyd
Fred Haggerty
as Krilencu
Martine Beswicke
as Zora
Alizia Gur
as Vida
Vladek Sheybal
as Kronsteen
Peter Madden
as McAdams
Peter Brayham
as Rhoda

Crew

Terence Young
Director
Harry Saltzman
Producer
Albert R. Broccoli
Producer
Richard Maibaum
Screenwriter
Johanna Harwood
Screenwriter
Ted Moore
Cinematographer
Monty Norman
Songwriter
John Barry
Composer (Music Score)
Peter Hunt
Editor
Sidney Cain
Art Director
Syd Cain
Art Director
Freda Pearson
Set Designer
Jocelyn Rickards
Costume Designer
John Stears
Special Effects
John Barry
Conductor
Don Lusher
Musical Performer
Advertisement