Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Friday the 13th Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Definitely no relation to the horror-film series of the same name, the British [[Feature~V18658~Friday the 13th~fridaythe13th]] is a variation of the "Bridge on the San Luis Rey" theme, set in motion by a London bus accident. Two passengers are killed and two injured in the crash, but the screenplay (co-written by Hitchcock-contributor [[Performer~P91579~Sidney Gilliat~sidneygilliat]]) keeps the audience in suspense as to the identities of the victims. In a series of flashbacks, the viewer is introduced to the passengers and the various trials and tribulations they were dealing with before the accident. The characters include a chorus girl en route to a date with a man she doesn't love; a henpecked husband whose wife was cheating on him; a blackmailer who'd been bleeding an unfortunate young man dry; a wise-guy crook who was about to be caught by a nasty detective; and so on. Extraordinarily well cast for a mid-1930s British film, [[Feature~V18658~Friday the 13th~fridaythe13th]] affords excellent acting opportunities for the likes of Jessie Mathews, [[Performer~P35363~Ursula Jeans~ursulajeans]], [[Performer~P41003~Frank Lawton~franklawton]], [[Performer~P60087~Ralph Richardson~ralphrichardson]], [[Performer~P126410~Max Miller~maxmiller]], [[Performer~P13312~O.B. Clarence~obclarence]] and [[Performer~P116860~Emlyn Williams~emlynwilliams]], among many many others. While American critics were impressed by the film, British reviewers were less kind, commenting that the constant switch from one character to another only results in confusion (PS: It doesn't). ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Jessie Matthews
as Millie
Edmund Gwenn
as Norman Wakefield
Ursula Jeans
as Eileen Jackson
Frank Lawton
as Frank Parsons
Emlyn Williams
as Blake
Ralph Richardson
as Horace Dawes
Belle Chrystal
as Mary
O.B. Clarence
as Clerk
Robertson Hare
as Mr. Lightfoot
Martita Hunt
as Agnes Lightfoot
Eliot Makeham
as Jackson
Gibb McLaughlin
as Florist
Gordon Harker
as Hamilton Briggs
Donald Calthrop
as Hugh Nichols
Harold Warrender
Clive Morton
Hartley Power
as American
Percy Parsons
Mary Jerrold
as Flora Wakefield
Wally Patch
as Bookie

Crew

Victor Saville
Director
Michael Balcon
Producer
Emlyn Williams
Screenwriter
Sidney Gilliat
Screenwriter
Charles Van Enger
Cinematographer
Advertisement