Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Fresh Details


A bright young African-American boy attempts to survive life in the city by acting as an errand boy for a drug dealer in this thoughtful, sharply plotted drama. Known as Fresh, the young man must use his delivery jobs to support himself and his troubled sister, receiving nothing from his distant, alcoholic father but the occasional chess lesson. His intelligence and quiet determination serve him well, as he wins the trust of his employer and settles into an unpleasant but survivable routine. Even this small comfort disappears, however, when Fresh accidentally witnesses the killing of a classmate and becomes a potential target himself. Forced into an impossible situation, he puts his experience and strategic ability to good use, developing a tricky plan to protect his own life and defeat the killers. First-time director Boaz Yakin emphasizes restraint and realism, presenting potentially sensationalistic material with a minimum of violence and flash. Instead, attention is placed on the strong, layered performances, particularly Sean Nelson as Fresh and Samuel L. Jackson as his embittered father. While some have questioned the film's treatment of inner city life, the film was generally acclaimed, thanks to its seriousness and complexity. ~ Judd Blaise, Rovi


Awarded by
Independent Spirit Awards Giancarlo Esposito Best Supporting Actor 1994 Nominee
Sundance Film Festival Boaz Yakin Filmmaker's Trophy: Dramatic 1993 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Sean Nelson Best Debut Performance 1994 Winner


Sean Nelson
as Fresh
Giancarlo Esposito
as Esteban
Samuel L. Jackson
as Sam
N'Bushe Wright
as Nicole
Ron Brice
as Corky
Jean-Claude LaMarre
as Jake
Cheryl Freeman
as Aunt Frances
Lawrence Bender
as Yuppie
Martin Shakar
as Detective Abe Sharp
Davenia McFadden
as Mrs. Coleman
Charles Malik Whitfield
as Smokey
F. Murray Abraham
as Chess Hustler (uncredited)
Yul Vázquez
as Chillie
Randy Ostrow
as Mr. Cohen
Anthony Ruiz
as Hector
Matthew Faber
as Long-Haired Teenager
Curtis L. McClarin
as Darryl
Joe Pentangelo
as Transit Cop
Mateo Gomez
as Mexican
Guillermo Diaz
as Spike
José Zuñiga
as Lieutenant Perez
Paul L.Q. Lee
as Tommy Yee


Boaz Yakin
Jean Cazes
Lawrence Bender
Randy Ostrow
Boaz Yakin
Adam Holender
Stewart Copeland
Composer (Music Score)
Dorian Harris
Dan Leigh
Production Designer
Chrisann Verges
Joann Fregalette Jansen
Associate Producer
Lila Cazes
Executive Producer
Ellen Lutter
Costume Designer
Michael Barosky
Sound/Sound Designer
Al Griswold
Special Effects
J. Miller Tobin
First Assistant Director