Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Frenchman's Creek Details


Daphne du Maurier's novel formed the basis for this romantic adventure saga. Lady Dona St. Columb (Joan Fontaine), an English noblewoman, is unhappily married to the weak-willed Harry St. Columb (Ralph Forbes), while Harry's sinister best friend Lord Rockingham (Basil Rathbone) makes no secret of his desire for her. When she discovers the ship of a French pirate, Jean Benoit Aubrey (Arturo DeCordova), docked near her estate, she makes the acquaintance of the dashing buccaneer, and she soon finds herself infatuated with him. Dona impulsively joins Jean as he stages a raid against wealthy landowner Lord Godolphin (Nigel Bruce); when Dona learns that Harry and Rockingham plan to capture the pirate, she stages a dinner party to distract them and then sends word to Jean that he is in danger. Jean soon appears at the St. Columb estate, putting Harry and Rockingham behind bars and urging Dona to run away with him. She declines, choosing not to follow her heart but to instead stay home to raise her children; however, Rockingham overhears this conversation and uses it to blackmail Dona into having his way with her. Frenchman's Creek earned an Academy Award for Sam V. Comer's set decoration and design. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi


Joan Fontaine
as Lady Dona St. Columb
Arturo de Cordova
as Jean Benoit Aubrey
Basil Rathbone
as Lord Rockingham
Nigel Bruce
as Lord Godolphin
Cecil Kellaway
as William
Ralph Forbes
as Harry St. Columb
Harold Ramond
as Edmund
Moyna MacGill
as Lady Godolphin
Patricia Barker
as Henrietta
Mary Field
as Prue
David Clyde
as Coachman
Charles Coleman
as Footman
Paul Oman
as Luc
Leslie Denison
as John Nankervia
Denis Green
as Philip Rashleigh
Phyllis Barry
as Women in Gambling House
George Barton
Edward Cooper
as Croupier
Henry Escalante
Art Foster
Vince Gironda
Frank S. Hagney
as Cornishman
Keith Hitchcock
as Watchman
Leyland Hodgson
Kenneth Hunter
Boyd Irwin
Fred Kohler, Jr.
Allen Pinson
Gordon Richards
as Guest
Victor Romito
Sammy Stein
Bob Stevenson
Armand Tanny
David Thursby
as Ostler
Constance Worth
Doris Lloyd
Gordon Richards
as Guest
Frank S. Hagney
as Cornishman
Keith Hitchcock
as Watchman
Edward Cooper
as Croupier
David Thursby
as Ostler
Phyllis Barry
as Women in Gambling House


Mitchell Leisen
Buddy G. DeSylva
Talbot Jennings
Farciot Edouart
George Barnes
Victor Young
Composer (Music Score)
Alma Macrorie
Ernst Fegte
Art Director
Hans Dreier
Art Director
Sam Comer
Set Designer
Gordon Jennings
Special Effects