Share

Watch It

On DVD: TBD | On Blu-ray: TBD

Free for All Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A pleasant comedy with serious undertones, [[Feature~V145471~Free for All~piedralibre]] stars [[Performer~P223917~Robert Cummings~robertcummings]] as erstwhile inventor Christopher Parker. Hoping to secure a patent on his latest invention--a formula that turns water into gasoline--Parker is flummoxed by yards and yards of governmental and bureaucratic red tape. He also faces formidable opposition in the form of avaricious oil-company executive Blair ([[Performer~P85558~Ray Collins~raycollins]]). Thankfully, Peterson can occasionally seek comfort in the arms of Alva ([[Performer~P6922~Ann Blyth~annblyth]]), fortuitously the daughter of sympathetic patent-office employe Mr. Abbott ([[Performer~P38107~Percy Kilbride~percykilbride]]). Within a few years, the heat generated by the House UnAmerican Activities Committee would preclude the on-screen depiction of a villainous oil executive (this particular stereotype would, however, stage a comeback during the energy crises of the 1970s). Outside of its satirical jibes, [[Feature~V145471~Free for All~piedralibre]] scores its biggest laughs when concentrating on the various eccentrics ([[Performer~P31651~Percy Helton~percyhelton]], [[Performer~P1908~Harry Antrim~harryantrim]] et. al.) dwelling in Mr Abbott's gadget-laden boarding house. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

Cast

Robert Cummings
as Christopher Parker
Ann Blyth
as Ann Abbott
Percy Kilbride
as Mr. Abbott
Ray Collins
as Mr. Blair
Donald Woods
as Roger Abernathy
Mikhail Rasumny
as Dr. Torgelson
Percy Helton
as Mr. Hershey
Wallis Clark
as Mr. Van Alstyne
Frank Ferguson
as Hap Ross
Dooley Wilson
as Aristotle
Russell Simpson
as Farmer
Lester Matthews
as Mr. Aberson
Murray Alper
as McGuinness
Bill Walker
as Herbert
Kenneth Tobey
as Pilot
Harris Brown
as Colonel

Crew

Charles Barton
Director
Robert Buckner
Producer
Robert Buckner
Screenwriter
George Robinson
Cinematographer
Frank Skinner
Composer (Music Score)
Ralph Dawson
Editor
Nathan Juran
Art Director
Bernard Herzbrun
Art Director
Advertisement