Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Freaky Friday Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Prolific television director [[Performer~P104242~Gary Nelson~garynelson]] made the Walt Disney live-action comedy Freaky Friday, based on the novel by [[Performer~P169487~Mary Rodgers~maryrodgers]]. [[Performer~P30591~Barbara Harris~barbaraharris]] stars as suburban housewife Ellen Andrews, the wife of Bill ([[Performer~P2646~John Astin~johnastin]]) and the mother of Annabel ([[Performer~P90220~Jodie Foster~jodiefoster]]) and Ben ([[Performer~P45378~Sparky Marcus~sparkymarcus]]). Ellen just can't understand what's going on with teenaged Annabel, who hangs around the house making snappy remarks, eating ice cream for breakfast, and calling her brother Apeface. They each make a separate wish to be in the other's place, and they get their wish on Friday 13th. Ellen has to go through the day as a kid, playing on the field hockey team and dealing with typing class. Annabel has to deal with grown-up problems like getting appliances fixed and preparing a banquet. The whole silly story ends with a wacky car-chase/water skiing/hang-gliding conclusion in keeping with other Disney movies of the day. Freaky Friday was remade twice with the same title, and spawned a whole subgenre of body-switching movies in the 1980s. ~ Andrea LeVasseur, Rovi

  • Release date:December 17, 1976

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Barbara Harris Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1976 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Jodie Foster Best Performance by an Actress in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1976 Nominee
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Al Kasha Best Original Song 1976 Nominee

Cast

Barbara Harris
as Ellen Andrews
Jodie Foster
as Annabel Andrews
John Astin
as Bill Andrews
Patsy Kelly
as Mrs. Schmauss
Dick Van Patten
as Harold Jennings
Vicki Schreck
as Virginia
Sorrell Booke
as Mr. Dilk
Alan Oppenheimer
as Mr. Joffert
Ruth Buzzi
as Opposing Coach
Kaye Ballard
as Coach Betsy
Marie Windsor
as Mrs. Murphy
Sparky Marcus
as Ben Andrews
Ceil Cabot
as Miss McGuirk
Brooke Mills
as Mrs. Gibbons
Marvin Kaplan
as Carpet Cleaner
Al Molinaro
as Drapery Man
Iris Adrian
as Bus Passenger
Barbara Walden
as Mrs. Benson
Charlene Tilton
as Bambi
Jack Sheldon
as Lloyd
Don Carter
as Delivery Boy
James Van Patten
as Cashier
Laurie Main
as Mr. Mills
Fritz Feld
as Jackman
Marc McClure
as Boris Harris

Crew

Gary Nelson
Director
Tom Leetch
Producer
Ron Miller
Producer
Charles Wheeler
Cinematographer
Johnny Mandel
Composer (Music Score)
Joel Hirschhorn
Composer (Music Score)
Joel Hirschhorn
Songwriter
Al Kasha
Songwriter
Al Kasha
Composer (Music Score)
Cotton Warburton
Editor
Louis Mann
Production Designer
Jack Senter
Art Director
Robert R. Benton
Set Designer
Emily Sundby
Costume Designer
Chuck Keehne
Costume Designer
Herb Taylor
Sound/Sound Designer
Art Cruickshank
Special Effects
Eustace Lycett
Special Effects
Art Stevens
Title Design
Advertisement