Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Freakonomics Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Inspired by authors Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner wildly popular best-seller Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything, this documentary teams such acclaimed filmmakers as [[Performer~P386886~Morgan Spurlock~morganspurlock]] ([[Feature~V301680~Super Size Me~supersizeme]]), [[Performer~P91461~Alex Gibney~alexgibney]] ([[Feature~V392225~Taxi to the Dark Side~taxitothedarkside]]), and [[Performer~P519219~Seth Gordon~sethgordon]] ([[Feature~V384804~The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters~thekingofkong:afistfulofquarters]]) to look at human behavior from a perspective of incentives and statistics. Conventional wisdom gets caught in the crosshairs when [[Feature~V342517~Jesus Camp~jesuscamp]] co-directors [[Performer~P429889~Heidi Ewing~heidiewing]] and [[Performer~P429890~Rachel Grady~rachelgrady]] explore how underachieving kids respond when they're rewarded for hard work with greenbacks; [[Performer~P91461~Gibney~alexgibney]] throws open the curtain on sumo wrestling; [[Performer~P386886~Spurlock~morganspurlock]] examines how baby names can affect a child's development; and [[Feature~V318889~Why We Fight~whywefight]] director [[Performer~P328818~Eugene Jarecki~eugenejarecki]] offers a troubling hypothesis on why the early-'90s saw some of the lowest crime rates of the latter 20th century. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:October 1, 2010

Cast

Crew

Heidi Ewing
Director
Eugene Jarecki
Director
Rachel Grady
Director
Morgan Spurlock
Director
Seth Gordon
Director
Alex Gibney
Director
Chris Romano
Producer
Chad Troutwine
Producer
Daniel O'Meara
Producer
Eugene Jarecki
Screenwriter
Rachel Grady
Screenwriter
Jeremy Chilnick
Screenwriter
Heidi Ewing
Screenwriter
Morgan Spurlock
Screenwriter
Seth Gordon
Screenwriter
Alex Gibney
Screenwriter
Tony Hardmon
Cinematographer
Darren Lew
Cinematographer
Rob VanAlkemade
Cinematographer
Michael Wandmacher
Composer (Music Score)
Paul Brill
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Furjanic
Composer (Music Score)
Michael Taylor
Editor
Doug Blush
Editor
Nelson Ryland
Editor
Sloane Klevin
Editor
Rafi Chaudry
Co-producer
Michael Roban
Executive Producer
Damon Martin
Executive Producer
Seth Gordon
Executive Producer
Paul Fiore
Executive Producer
Jay Rifkin
Executive Producer
Chad Troutwine
Presented by
Advertisement