Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

For Your Consideration Details


Mockumentary mastermind Christopher Guest turns his satirical eye away from dog shows, small-town theater, and folk music to offer a hilarious take on Hollywood award season in this comedy focusing on trio of actors whose lives are turned upside down when they discover that their performances in an independent film are generating a sizable buzz in the entertainment industry. Jay Berman (Guest) is in the process of directing his first feature film -- an intimate family drama set in the 1940s and detailing the tempestuous reunion of an estranged Jewish family that is reluctantly drawn together to celebrate Purim at the behest of their dying matriarch. The cast soon comes down with an infectious case of award fever when rumors on the Internet claim that "Purim" stars Marilyn Hack (Catherine O' Hara), Victor Allan Miller (Harry Shearer), and Callie Webb (Parker Posey) may be delivering Oscar-caliber performances. When "Hollywood Now" co-anchors Chuck Porter (Fred Willard) and Cindy Martin (Jane Lynch) perpetuate the buzz on national television, the entire film crew starts to see stars in their eyes. Subsequently convinced that they have a sleeper hit on their hands, unit publicist Corey Taft (John Michael Higgins), talent agent Morley Orfkin (Eugene Levy), and producer Whitney Taylor Brown (Jennifer Coolidge) immediately cave to requests from Sunfish Classics president Martin Gibb (Ricky Gervais) to alter the film so that it may appeal to a larger audience. Now, while "Purim" screenwriters Lane Iverson (Michael McKean) and Philip Koontz (Bob Balaban) are forced to watch helplessly as their original screenplay is plundered in order to cash in on the positive buzz, awards season draws near and the production takes a most unexpected turn. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:November 17, 2006


Awarded by
New York Film Critics Society Catherine O'Hara Best Supporting Actress (Runner-up) 2006 Winner
National Board of Review Catherine O'Hara Best Supporting Actress 2006 Winner
Kansas City Film Critics Association Catherine O'Hara Best Supporting Actress 2006 Winner
New York Film Critics Online Catherine O'Hara Best Supporting Actress 2006 Winner
Broadcast Film Critics Association Catherine O'Hara Best Supporting Actress 2006 Nominee
Independent Spirit Awards Catherine O'Hara Best Actress 2006 Nominee


Bob Balaban
as Philip Koontz
Jennifer Coolidge
as Whitney Taylor Brown
Christopher Guest
as Jay Berman
John Michael Higgins
as Corey Taft
Eugene Levy
as Morley Orfkin
Jane Lynch
as Cindy Martin
Michael McKean
as Lane Iverson
Catherine O'Hara
as Marilyn Hack
Parker Posey
as Callie Webb
Harry Shearer
as Victor Allan Miller
Fred Willard
as Chuck Porter
Jim Piddock
as Simon Whitset
Jane Morris
as Script Supervisor
Stephen Rannazzisi
as Studio Gate Guard
Jordan Black
as Whitney's Assistant
Ed Begley, Jr.
as Sandy Lane
Paul Dooley
as Paper Badge Sergeant
John Krasinski
as Paper Badge Officer
Don Lake
as Love It Film Critic
Michael Hitchcock
as Hate It Film Critic
Lauri Johnson
as Morley's Secretary
Simon Helberg
as Junior Agent
Rachael Harris
as Mary Pat Hooligan
Sandra Oh
as Marketing Person
Richard Kind
as Marketing Person
Christopher Moynihan
as Brian Chubb
Carrie Aizley
as Pam Campanella
Ari Graynor
as Young PA
Scott Adsit
as First AD
Stephanie Courtney
as Boom Operator
Suzy Nakamura
as First AC
Mary McCormack
as Pilgrim Woman
Shawn Christian
as Pilgrim Man
Deborah Theaker
as Liz Fenneman
Nina Conti
as Weather Woman
Scott Williamson
as Skip
Sarah Shahi
as Sanchez
Steven M. Porter
as Floor Manager
Ricky Gervais
as Martin Gibb
Larry Miller
as Syd Finkleman
Craig Bierko
as Talk Show Host
Joe Satriani
as Talk Show Guitarist
Oneida James
as Talk Show Bassist
Curt Bisquera
as Talk Show Drums
Sheila Gonzalez
as Talk Show Saxophone
Lance Barber
as Dinkie
Skyler Stone
as Don
Mark Harelik
as Round Table Host
Rick Gonzalez
as Chillaxin' Host
Claire Forlani
as Claire Forlani
Hart Bochner
as Hart Bochner
Kevin Sussman
as Commercial Director
Jessica St. Clair
as Hula Balls Spokeswoman
Casey Wilson
as Young Actress
Kevin Christy
as Young Actor
Derek Waters
as Even Younger Actor


Christopher Guest
Karen Murphy
Christopher Guest
Eugene Levy
Roberto Schaefer
Robert Leighton
Joseph T. Garrity
Production Designer
Pat Tagliaferro
Art Director
Julia Levine
Set Designer
David Chow
Set Designer
Durinda Wood
Costume Designer
Dena Roth
Set Decorator
Hamilton Sterling
Sound/Sound Designer
Cas Donovan
First Assistant Director
Simon Jayes
Camera Operator
Jennifer Lane
Camera Operator
Richard Hicks
Mark Weingarten
Sound Mixer
Roselee Showe
Matt Gaumer
Second Assistant Camera
Jennifer Starzyk
Jesse Homan
Bart Barbuscia
Swing Gang
Jerry Enright
Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Brick Graham
William Wardlow
Stephen Runningen
Graphic Design
Joe Satriani
Musical Performer
Alison Fisher
ADR Supervisor
Jonathan Bobbitt
Paul Massey
Re-Recording Mixer
Suzanne Tenner
Still Photographer
Chrisann Verges
Unit Production Manager
Amy Hinkley
Assistant Hair
Sarah Monat
Foley Artist
Helen McGinn
Script Supervisor
Jennifer Reiss
Second Second Assistant Director
Debi Shirk-Tagliaferro
Art Department Coordinator
Tony Mendez
Craft Service/Catering
Murray Miller
Location Manager
Jamelle Flowers
Lawrence Rake
Lisa Vijitchanton
Production Coordinator
Vicki Phillips
Key Hairstylist
Felicia Linsky
Key Make-up
Tracy Estes
Travis Mackay
ADR Recordist
Dean Parks
Musical Performer
David Sanfield
Craft Service/Catering
Gregg Bissonette
Musical Performer
Corinne Villa
Visual Effects Editor
James Apted
First Assistant Camera
Pamela Griner
Post Production Supervisor
Andee McGuffee
Paul Rathburn
Craft Service/Catering
Kristen Ploucha
Second Assistant Director
Thomas McNeal
Mervyn Johnson
Construction Coordinator
Shaun Ryan
Esteban Lascarez
Properties Maker
Louis Terry
Swing Gang
Christopher Guest
Musical Performer
Section Quartet
Musical Performer
Larry Commans
Boom Operator
Mike Sowa
Color Timing
Oscar Mitt
Assistant Sound Editor
Saeed Faridzadeh
Painter (digital)
Kristen Eccker
Second Assistant Camera
Billy Ramirez
Craft Service/Catering
Robert Paulsen
Assistant Location Manager
Randy K. Singer
Foley Mixer
Fredrick Trogdon
Jennifer Zide
Assistant Makeup
David Blasucci
Unit Publicist
Theraesa Rivers
Assistant Hair
Mary Catanado
Louise DeCordoba
Production Accountant
Jen Ireland
Paul Lambiase
Chris Tedesco
Musical Performer
Seamus Gibson
Craft Service/Catering
Arturo Rojas
Assistant Hair
Don Verela
Norbert Fimpel
Musical Performer
Alison Hoberman
Craft Service/Catering
David Giammarco
Re-Recording Mixer
Tim Gomillion
Marcy Froelich
Assistant Costume Designer
Paul Bode
First Assistant Camera
Marc Vena
Storyboard Artist
Stephanie Stenta
Casting Assistant
Emma Trenchard
Costumes Supervisor
Donavan McDougle
Title Design
Jenifer Bonisteel
Assistant Production Coordinator
Kanani Wolf