Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Forgetting Sarah Marshall Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

In desperate need of a vacation after being unceremoniously dumped by his TV-star girlfriend, a man travels to a lavish Hawaiian resort to nurse his wounds and forget his heartache, only to discover that his ex and her handsome new boyfriend are currently staying at the exact same island hot spot. Peter Bretter ([[Performer~P242464~Jason Segel~jasonsegel]]) may be just another struggling musician, but for the past six years he's been dating Sarah Marshall ([[Performer~P369786~Kristen Bell~kristenbell]]), one of the hottest stars on television. Sarah is everything in the world to Peter, so when she kindly but firmly tells him that they should each go their separate ways, he is absolutely devastated. Later, after attempting to salvage his ego by awkwardly attempting to become a womanizer and nearly losing his job because of a nervous breakdown, an emotionally fragile Peter attempts to put the past behind him by escaping to the sun-soaked beaches of Oahu. While at first it seems as if Peter has discovered the perfect prescription for a bad case of lost love, his plan soon turns to dust when Sarah and her new rock-star boyfriend, Aldous ([[Performer~P364780~Russell Brand~russellbrand]]), turn up at the exact same resort. Though accepting Sarah's lavish new lifestyle won't be easy for the crestfallen Peter, the laid-back companionship of flirtatious resort employee Rachel ([[Performer~P215642~Mila Kunis~milakunis]]) -- not to mention a continuous regimen of fruity cocktails -- goes a long way in mending the wounds of a broken heart. Forgetting Sarah Marshall was penned by [[Performer~P242464~Segel~jasonsegel]] and produced by [[Performer~P188203~Judd Apatow~juddapatow]]. [[Feature~V292002~Fun with Dick and Jane~funwithdickandjane]] screenwriter [[Performer~P367851~Nicholas Stoller~nickstoller]] makes his directorial debut. The cast also includes [[Performer~P225541~Paul Rudd~paulrudd]], [[Performer~P460678~Bill Hader~billhader]], [[Performer~P479792~Jack McBrayer~jackmcbrayer]], and [[Performer~P418718~Jonah Hill~jonahhill]]. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:April 18, 2008

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Chicago Film Critics Association Russell Brand Most Promising Performer 2008 Nominee

Cast

Jason Segel
as Peter Bretter
Kristen Bell
as Sarah Marshall
Mila Kunis
as Rachael
Russell Brand
as Aldous Snow
Bill Hader
as Brian
Jonah Hill
as Matthew
Paul Rudd
as Surfing Instructor
Jack McBrayer
Maria Thayer
William Baldwin
Jason Bateman
Billy Bush
Steve Landesberg

Crew

Nick Stoller
Director
Judd Apatow
Producer
Shauna Robertson
Producer
Jason Segel
Screenwriter
Judd Apatow
Screenwriter
Russ T. Alsobrook
Cinematographer
Jonathan Karp
Musical Direction/Supervision
Lyle Workman
Composer (Music Score)
William Kerr
Editor
Jackson de Govia
Production Designer
Scott Meehan
Art Director
Richard Vane
Executive Producer
Rodney Rothman
Executive Producer
K.C. Fox
Set Decorator
Leesa Evans
Costume Designer
Richard van Dyke
Sound/Sound Designer
Jeanne McCarthy
Casting
Advertisement