Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Flash of Genius Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P200274~Greg Kinnear~gregkinnear]] stars in director [[Performer~P78947~Marc Abraham~marcabraham]]'s man-against-the-system docudrama Flash of Genius as inventor Robert Kearns, the visionary who developed the modern intermittent windshield wiper. Kearns submitted the invention to each of the big three auto companies, each of which promptly rejected it; the companies then turned around and put the device to use. The enraged inventor spent several decades attempting to collect on his patent, and mounting lawsuits that traveled all the way to the Supreme Court; he eventually collected over 30 million dollars for his obsession. [[Performer~P78947~Abraham~marcabraham]] co-authored the script with [[Performer~P90346~Scott Frank~scottfrank]] and [[Performer~P519765~Phillip Railsback~philliprailsback]], adapting an article by John Seabrook that originally appeared in The New Yorker. [[Performer~P51293~Dermot Mulroney~dermotmulroney]] plays [[Performer~P200274~Kinnear~gregkinnear]]'s best friend, with [[Performer~P237425~Lauren Graham~laurengraham]] rounding out the supporting cast. ~ Nathan Southern, Rovi

  • Release date:October 3, 2008

Cast

Greg Kinnear
as Robert Kearns
Lauren Graham
as Phyllis Kearns
Dermot Mulroney
as Gil Privick
Jake Abel
as Dennis Kearns
Daniel Roebuck
as Frank Sertin
Tim Kelleher
as Charles Defao
Bill Smitrovich
as Judge Michael Franks
Alan Alda
as Gregory Lawson
Mitch Pileggi
as Ford executive

Crew

Marc Abraham
Director
Gary Barber
Producer
Michael Lieber
Producer
Phillip Railsback
Screenwriter
Marc Abraham
Screenwriter
Scott Frank
Screenwriter
Dante Spinotti
Cinematographer
G. Marq Roswell
Musical Direction/Supervision
Aaron Zigman
Composer (Music Score)
Adam Swart
Musical Direction/Supervision
Jill Savitt
Editor
Hugo Luczyc-Wyhowski
Production Designer
Patrick Banister
Art Director
Jonathan Glickman
Executive Producer
J. Miles Dale
Executive Producer
Thomas A. Bliss
Executive Producer
Eric Newman
Executive Producer
Luis M. Sequeira
Costume Designer
Denise Chamian
Casting
Advertisement