Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

The Firm Details


In this drama, based on the best-selling novel by John Grisham, Mitch McDeer (Tom Cruise) is a young man from a poor Southern family who has struggled through Harvard Law School to graduate fifth in his class. Mitch is entertaining offers from major firms in New York and Chicago, but when Memphis-based Bendini, Lambert, & Locke offer him a 20 percent higher salary than the best offer he's received, in addition to an enticing variety of perks and fringe benefits, he decides to sign on and remain in the South. Mitch's wife, Abby (Jeanne Tripplehorn), warns him that the deal sounds almost too good to be true, but it's not until after several weeks of working with Avery Tolar (Gene Hackman) that Mitch discovers that the vast majority of BL&L's business is tied to organized crime, with crime boss Joey Morolto (Paul Sorvino) using the firm to launder Mafia money. FBI agents Wayne Tarrance (Ed Harris) and F. Denton Voyles (Steven Hill) try to blackmail Mitch into helping them make a case against the firm, while BL&L's "security director" William Devasher (Wilford Brimley) is blackmailing him to do as he's told after Mitch foolishly allows himself to be seduced by a prostitute hired by the firm. The Firm was adapted for the screen by acclaimed playwright David Rabe and features performances by Hal Holbrook, Holly Hunter, and Gary Busey. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi


Awarded by
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Dave Grusin Best Score 1993 Nominee
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Holly Hunter Best Supporting Actress 1993 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Holly Hunter Best Supporting Actress 1993 Nominee


Tom Cruise
as Mitch McDeere
Jeanne Tripplehorn
as Abby McDeere
Gene Hackman
as Avery Tolar
Hal Holbrook
as Oliver Lambert
Terry Kinney
as Lamar Quinn
Ed Harris
as Wayne Tarrance
Wilford Brimley
as William Devasher
Holly Hunter
as Tammy Hemphill
David Strathairn
as Ray McDeere
Gary Busey
as Eddie Lomax
Steven Hill
as F. Denton Voyles
Tobin Bell
as The Nordic Man
Barbara Garrick
as Kay Quinn
Jerry Hardin
as Royce McKnight
Paul Calderon
as Thomas Richie
Jerry Weintraub
as Sonny Capps
Margo Martindale
as Nina Huff
Rebecca Glenn
as Young Woman at Patio Bar
Clint Smith
as Cotton Truck Driver
Mark W. Johnson
as FBI Agent
David A. Kimball
as Randall Dunbar
Dean Norris
as Squat Man
Afemo Omilami
as Cotton Truck Driver
Debbie Turner
as Rental Agent
James White
as Singer at Hyatt
Greg Goossen
as Vietnam Veteran
Bart Whiteman
as Dutch
David Dwyer
as Prison Guard
Tommy Cresswell
as Wally Hudson
John Beal
as Nathan Locke
Joey Anderson
as Ruth
Paul Sorvino
as Joey Morolto "uncredited"
Lou Walker
as Frank Mulholland


Sydney Pollack
Sydney Pollack
Scott Rudin
David Rayfiel
David Rabe
Robert Towne
John Grisham
Book Author
John Grisham
Screen Story
Daniel Pyne
John Seale
Dave Grusin
Composer (Music Score)
Frederic Steinkamp
William Steinkamp
John Willett
Art Director
Michael Hausman
Executive Producer
Lindsay Doran
Executive Producer
Casey Hallenbeck
Set Designer
Ruth Myers
Costume Designer
David MacMillan
Sound/Sound Designer
David McGiffert
First Assistant Director
Chuck Jeffreys
Randy Ostrow
Location Manager