Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Fighting Frontiersman Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A grizzled old prospector literally stumbles over General Santa Ana's missing payroll treasure in this average "Durango Kid" Western from Columbia Pictures. Cimarron Dobbs ([[Performer~P43982~Emmett Lynn~emmettlynn]]), who has been grubstaked by Rangers Steve Reynolds ([[Performer~P67732~Charles Starrett~charlesstarrett]]) and [[Performer~P9676~Smiley Burnette~smileyburnette]], soon finds himself in the clutches of greedy saloon proprietor John Munro ([[Performer~P23447~Robert Filmer~robertfilmer]]) and his accomplice, saloon belle Dixie King ([[Performer~P123454~Helen Mowery~helenmowery]]), who will stop at nothing, including depriving the old man of water, to get hold of the treasure. Enter Steve Reynolds' alter ego, the Durango Kid, who not only manages to save Cimarron and find the treasure but also donates the loot to Munro's victims, the local farmers. [[Performer~P9676~Smiley Burnette~smileyburnette]] performs his usual pratfalls and sings his own "Swamp Woman Blues", "Don't Be Mad at Me" and "Coyote Chorus", while the congregation known as Hank Newman and the Georgia Crackers takes care of [[Performer~P169381~Bob Newman~bobnewman]]'s "Following the Trail". ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Cast

George Cheseboro
as Rankin
Helen Mowery
as Dixie King
Blackie Whiteford
as Townsman
Frank LaRue
as Banker Roberts
Frank Ellis
as Frank
Bob Callahan
as Townsman
Maudie Prickett
as Kate
Jock Mahoney
as Waco
Victor Cox
as Townsman
Charles Starrett
Charles Starrett
as Durango Kid
Charles Starrett
as Steve Reynolds
Kit Guard
as Townsman
Ernie S. Adams
as Printer
Emmett Lynn
as Cimarron Dobbs
Robert Filmer
as John Munro
Smiley Burnette
as Smiley Burnette
Zon Murray
as Slade

Crew

Colbert Clark
Producer
Philip Tannura
Cinematographer
Jerome Thoms
Editor
Jack Fier
Production Manager
Advertisement