Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Fighting Frontiersman Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A grizzled old prospector literally stumbles over General Santa Ana's missing payroll treasure in this average "Durango Kid" Western from Columbia Pictures. Cimarron Dobbs ([[Performer~P43982~Emmett Lynn~emmettlynn]]), who has been grubstaked by Rangers Steve Reynolds ([[Performer~P67732~Charles Starrett~charlesstarrett]]) and [[Performer~P9676~Smiley Burnette~smileyburnette]], soon finds himself in the clutches of greedy saloon proprietor John Munro ([[Performer~P23447~Robert Filmer~robertfilmer]]) and his accomplice, saloon belle Dixie King ([[Performer~P123454~Helen Mowery~helenmowery]]), who will stop at nothing, including depriving the old man of water, to get hold of the treasure. Enter Steve Reynolds' alter ego, the Durango Kid, who not only manages to save Cimarron and find the treasure but also donates the loot to Munro's victims, the local farmers. [[Performer~P9676~Smiley Burnette~smileyburnette]] performs his usual pratfalls and sings his own "Swamp Woman Blues", "Don't Be Mad at Me" and "Coyote Chorus", while the congregation known as Hank Newman and the Georgia Crackers takes care of [[Performer~P169381~Bob Newman~bobnewman]]'s "Following the Trail". ~ Hans J. Wollstein, Rovi

Cast

Blackie Whiteford
as Townsman
Emmett Lynn
as Cimarron Dobbs
Robert Filmer
as John Munro
Jock Mahoney
as Waco
Kit Guard
as Townsman
Smiley Burnette
as Smiley Burnette
Frank Ellis
as Frank
Charles Starrett
as Steve Reynolds
Charles Starrett
Charles Starrett
as Durango Kid
Ernie S. Adams
as Printer
Zon Murray
as Slade
Helen Mowery
as Dixie King
Frank LaRue
as Banker Roberts
George Cheseboro
as Rankin
Maudie Prickett
as Kate
Bob Callahan
as Townsman
Victor Cox
as Townsman

Crew

Colbert Clark
Producer
Philip Tannura
Cinematographer
Jerome Thoms
Editor
Jack Fier
Production Manager
Advertisement