Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Father of the Bride II Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Just as the original 1950 version of Father of the Bride spawned a sequel, so did the 1991 remake; like its counterpart four decades earlier, this story concerns a father who learns that his anxieties are just beginning after his daughter takes the big walk down the aisle. George Banks ([[Performer~P101485~Steve Martin~stevemartin]]) has finally adjusted to the marriage of his daughter Annie ([[Performer~P76497~Kimberly Williams~kimberlywilliams]]) when the fates drop a new bombshell on his head: Annie and her husband Bryan ([[Performer~P52361~George Newbern~georgenewbern]]) announce that they're going to have a baby. While George's wife Nina ([[Performer~P96996~Diane Keaton~dianekeaton]]) is happy enough about the news, George is thrown into an immediate mid-life crisis; while he and Nina were once discussing the possibility of selling the family home and moving to a place on the beach, George impulsively sells their home to Mr. Habib ([[Performer~P99559~Eugene Levy~eugenelevy]]), a greedy land speculator. Now, with ten days to move, George gets even more unexpected news: Nina, who had earlier been fretting about the onset of menopause, has just learned that she's pregnant as well. George now has to deal with being a father again as well as becoming a grandparent, while he also figures out how to get the Banks family home back. [[Performer~P65439~Martin Short~martinshort]] returns as Franck, the oddly accented wedding planner from Father of the Bride, who has moved into a new career organizing baby showers and redecorating homes. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Hollywood Foreign Press Association Steve Martin Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Musical or Comedy 1995 Nominee

Cast

Steve Martin
as George Banks
Diane Keaton
as Nina Banks
Martin Short
as Franck Eggelhoffer
Kimberly Williams
as Annie Banks-MacKenzie
George Newbern
as Bryan MacKenzie
Kieran Culkin
as Matty Banks
Caroline Lagerfelt
as Check-In Nurse
Annie Meyers-Shyer
as Shower Guest
April Ortiz
as Olivia
Susan Beaubian
as Annie's Nurse
B.D. Wong
as Howard Weinstein
Wendy Worthington
as Prostate Nurse
Eugene Levy
as Mr. Habib
Ann Walker
as Dr. Brooks' Nurse
Jane Adams
as Dr. Megan Eisenberg
Jonathan Emerson
as Frantic Father #2
K.C. Colwell
as Father Heading off to Work
Kate McGregor-Stewart
as Joanna MacKenie
Hallie Meyers-Shyer
as Annie (Age Seven)
Tony Simotes
as Construction Foreman
Peter Michael Goetz
as John MacKenzie
Linda de Scenna
as Shower Guest
Mychael Bates
as Hospital Orderly

Crew

Charles Shyer
Director
Nancy Meyers
Producer
Nancy Meyers
Screenwriter
Charles Shyer
Screenwriter
William A. Fraker
Cinematographer
Elliot Davis
Cinematographer
Alan Silvestri
Composer (Music Score)
Allan Mason
Musical Direction/Supervision
Adam Bernardi
Editor
Stephen A. Rotter
Editor
Linda de Scenna
Production Designer
Greg Papalia
Art Director
James Orr
Co-producer
Bruce A. Block
Co-producer
Cindy Williams
Co-producer
Sandy Gallin
Executive Producer
Carol Baum
Executive Producer
Dawn Snyder
Set Designer
Masako Masuda
Set Designer
Nancy Mickelberry
Set Designer
Ric Mcelvin
Set Designer
Enid Harris
Costume Designer
Richard Bryce Goodman
Sound/Sound Designer
K.C. Colwell
First Assistant Director
Bruce A. Block
First Assistant Director
Sheila Guthrie
Casting
Jeff Greenberg
Casting
Al Laverde
Key Grip
Albert Hackett
From Screenplay by
Frances Goodrich
From Screenplay by
Advertisement