Share

Watch It

Enter your location to get local movie times + tickets:
On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Fantastic Mr. Fox Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A wily fox uses his formidable cunning to outsmart three feeble-minded farmers, who resort to extreme tactics to protect their chickens in director [[Performer~P263477~Wes Anderson~wesanderson]]'s animated adaptation of the popular [[Performer~P159540~Roald Dahl~roalddahl]] children's book. For 12 years, Mr. and Mrs. Fox (voices of [[Performer~P13722~George Clooney~georgeclooney]] and [[Performer~P68676~Meryl Streep~merylstreep]]) have lived a peaceful life in the wilderness with their son, Ash (voice of [[Performer~P263441~Jason Schwartzman~jasonschwartzman]]). Shortly after their young nephew Kristofferson (voice of [[Performer~P612900~Eric Anderson~ericanderson]]) arrives for a visit, Mr. Fox's long-suppressed animal instincts begin to take over and the faithful family man resorts back to his old ways as a cunning chicken thief, endangering not only his family but the entire animal community as well. When evil farmers Boggis, Bunce, and Bean force the animals underground in a desperate attempt to capture the audacious Mr. Fox, dwindling food supplies force the frightened animals to band together in one last attempt to fight for the land that is rightfully theirs. [[Performer~P103861~Bill Murray~billmurray]], [[Performer~P25729~Michael Gambon~michaelgambon]], [[Performer~P16547~Willem Dafoe~willemdafoe]], and [[Performer~P200996~Owen Wilson~owenwilson]] provide additional voices. ~ Jason Buchanan, Rovi

  • Release date:November 13, 2009

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
American Cinema Editors Guild Andrew Weisblum Best Edited Animated Feature 2009 Nominee
National Society of Film Critics Nelson Lowry Best Production Design 2009 Winner
Online Film Critics Association Noah Baumbach Best Adapted Screenplay 2009 Winner
Online Film Critics Association Wes Anderson Best Adapted Screenplay 2009 Winner
National Board of Review Wes Anderson Special Filmmaking Achievement 2009 Winner
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Wes Anderson Best Animated Feature 2009 Nominee
New York Film Critics Circle George Clooney Best Actor 2009 Winner
British Academy of Film and Television Arts Alexandre Desplat Best Music 2009 Nominee
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alexandre Desplat Best Original Score 2009 Nominee

Cast

George Clooney
as Mr. Fox
Meryl Streep
as Mrs. Fox
Jason Schwartzman
as Ash
Bill Murray
as Badger
Wallace Wolodarsky
as Kylie
Michael Gambon
as Franklin Bean
Willem Dafoe
as Rat
Owen Wilson
as Coach Skip
Jarvis Cocker
as Petey
Helen McCrory
as Mrs. Bean
Wes Anderson
as Weasel
Steven Rales
as Beaver
Adrien Brody
as Field Mouse
Mario Batali
as Rabbit
Molly Cooper
as Rabbit Girl
Allison Abbate
as Rabbit's Ex-Girlfriend
Jeremy Dawson
as Beaver's Son
Garth Jennings
as Bean's Son
Karen Duffy
as Linda Otter
Jennifer Furches
as Dr. Badger
Roman Coppola
as Squirrel Contractor
Robert Hersov
as Pilot
Brian Cox
as Action 12 Reporter

Crew

Wes Anderson
Director
Wes Anderson
Producer
Jeremy Dawson
Producer
Scott Rudin
Producer
Allison Abbate
Producer
Roald Dahl
Book Author
Wes Anderson
Screenwriter
Noah Baumbach
Screenwriter
Alexandre Desplat
Musical Direction/Supervision
Alexandre Desplat
Composer (Music Score)
Randall Poster
Musical Direction/Supervision
Nelson Lowry
Production Designer
Francesca Maxwell
Art Director
Molly Cooper
Co-producer
Arnon Milchan
Executive Producer
Steven Rales
Executive Producer
Kev Harwood
First Assistant Director
Charlotte Owen
Production Manager
Fred de Bradeny
Production Supervisor
Alexandre Desplat
Conductor
Tim Ledbury
Visual Effects Supervisor
Mark Gustafson
Animation Director
Mark Waring
Supervising Animator
Felicie Haymoz
Character Design
Andrew Weisblum
Supervising Editor
Advertisement