Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

The Fan Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P3116~Lauren Bacall~laurenbacall]] more or less plays herself in [[Feature~V136479~The Fan~thefan]]. Cast as famous Broadway musical comedy star Sally Ross (with an astonishing lack of temperament!), Bacall finds herself the unwilling love object of psychotic fan Douglas Breen ([[Performer~P6111~Michael Biehn~michaelbiehn]]). As security around Ross tightens, Breen vows that if he can't have Ross, no one else can. [[Performer~P25985~James Garner~jamesgarner]] and [[Performer~P67653~Maureen Stapleton~maureenstapleton]] are underused as, respectively, Bacall's ex-husband and mother-hen secretary. Based on a good novel by [[Performer~P58698~Bob Randall~bobrandall]], [[Feature~V136479~The Fan~thefan]] comes off as a slightly more expensive "stalker of the week" TV movie. Still, the film proved grimly prescient in the light of [[Performer~P99330~John Lennon~johnlennon]]'s assassination (which occurred after the film was completed, but before its release) and the ongoing dilemma of current Broadway stars (even the lesser lights) who are forced to hire bodyguards to protect them from worshipful wackos. ~ Hal Erickson, Rovi

  • Release date:May 15, 1981

Cast

Lauren Bacall
as Sally Ross
James Garner
as Jake Berman
Maureen Stapleton
as Belle Goldman
Michael Biehn
as Douglas Breen
Hector Elizondo
as Ralph Andrews
Anna Maria Horsford
as Emily
Kurt Johnson
as David
Dana Delany
as Saleswoman
Liz Smith
as Herself
Kaiulani Lee
as Douglas' Sister
Victoria Vanderkloot
as Pen Thief
Ed Crowley
as Caretaker
Jean de Baer
as Stage Manager
Themi Sapountzakis
as Markham
Alixe Gordin
Jim Wolfe
as Dancer
Tim Elliott
as Stagehand
Justin Ross
as Dancer
Lionel Pina
as Customer
Miriam Phillips
as Woman on Steps
Griffin Dunne
as Production Assistant
Ann Pearl Gary
as Fan
Donna Mitchell
as Hostess
Robert Weil
as Pop
Dwight Schultz
as Director
Terence Marinan
as Young Man in Bar

Crew

Edward Bianchi
Director
Robert Stigwood
Producer
Priscilla Chapman
Screenwriter
John Hartwell
Screenwriter
Norman Wexler
Screenwriter
Dick Bush
Cinematographer
Pino Donaggio
Composer (Music Score)
Marvin Hamlisch
Songwriter
Alan Heim
Editor
Santo Loquasto
Production Designer
John Nicolella
Associate Producer
Bill Oakes
Associate Producer
Kevin McCormick
Executive Producer
Jeffrey Kurland
Costume Designer
Herbert W. Gains
First Assistant Director
Arlene Phillips
Choreography
Joan Bradshaw
Production Manager
Alixe Gordin
Casting
Tim Rice
Lyricist
Advertisement