Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Falling From Grace Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Rocker [[Performer~P102433~John Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]] both directed and starred in this drama about a well-known musician who returns to his old home town, opening a number of old wounds in the process. Bud Parks ([[Performer~P102433~Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]]) is a country-rock star who's feeling burned out after a long stretch on the road and heads back to his hometown in Indiana for some downtime with his family and old friends for the occasion of his father's birthday. But after arriving in Indiana with his wife, Alice ([[Performer~P93989~Mariel Hemingway~marielhemingway]]), and daughter, Terri Jo ([[Performer~P29487~Melissa Ann Hackman~melissaannhackman]]), Bud gets a reminder that the Parks family is no more happy or stable than it has ever been. Bud's wealthy father, Speck ([[Performer~P589~Claude Akins~claudeakins]]), is still a self-centered womanizer; Grandpa ([[Performer~P69995~Dub Taylor~dubtaylor]]) is a foul and hateful man; and Bud's half-brother, Ramey ([[Performer~P15623~Larry Crane~larrycrane]]) -- the result of one of Speck's many extramarital affairs -- is much better adjusted than his full brother, Parker ([[Performer~P33762~Brent Huff~brenthuff]]), whose loyalty to Speck has turned him into a spiritless lackey. Parker also happens to be married to P.J. ([[Performer~P41827~Kay Lenz~kaylenz]]), who was Bud's girlfriend in high school, and as Alice sits on the sidelines attracting the unwanted attentions of Speck, Bud finds himself falling into an affair with P.J. As he faces his own guilt and the mixed emotions of his family and friends at his return, Bud realizes he's more like his father than he ever wanted to be. Novelist and screenwriter [[Performer~P166793~Larry McMurtry~larrymcmurtry]] wrote Falling From Grace for [[Performer~P102433~Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]], even spending time with the singer in Indiana to get a better feel for the locations; songwriter and [[Performer~P102433~Mellencamp~johnmellencamp]] collaborator [[Performer~P57870~John Prine~johnprine]] also appears and contributes to the soundtrack. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:February 21, 1992

Cast

Joe Mellencamp
as Band Leader
Kay Lenz
as P.J. Parks
Mariel Hemingway
as Alice Parks
Claude Akins
as Speck Parks
Larry Crane
as Ramey Parks
Deirdre O'Connell
as Sally Cutler
Dub Taylor
as Grandpa Parks
Gary Boebinger
as Turdis
Bentley Austin
as Pure Jam Band Member
Tracy Cowles
as Bobby Tucker
Eric Austin
as Pure Jam Band Member
Toby Myers
as Luke
Craig Austin
as Pure Jam Band Member
John Prine
as Mitch Cutler
Kasey Robinson
as P.J.'s Child
John Mellencamp
as Bud Parks
Margie Hopper
as Mrs. Pendergrass
Brent Huff
as Parker Parks
Terra Cowles
as Sally's Child
Donna Cowles
as Mrs. Sacks
Mary Cowles
as Waitress
Glenn Dalton
as Pure Jam Band Member
Joanne Jacobson
as Marian Parks
Sigmund Balaban
as Country Club Manager

Crew

John Mellencamp
Director
Harry Sandler
Producer
Larry McMurtry
Screenwriter
Victor Hammer
Cinematographer
Dennis Virkler
Editor
Richard Mellencamp
Associate Producer
Advertisement