Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Fabulous! The Story of Queer Cinema Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

Gay, lesbian, and transgender filmmakers, actors, and critics explore the history of queer cinema in this made-for-cable documentary. Eschewing any overarching narration, co-directors [[Performer~P222075~Lesli Klainberg~lesliklainberg]] and [[Performer~P274638~Lisa Ades~lisaades]] illustrate archival footage and film clips with dozens of interviews. They also provide timelines and factoids to punctuate the discussion of specific eras. Although the background material and the interviewees allude to the subtext of Hollywood classics, the bounty of world cinema, and the history of experimental film, the focus remains squarely on the American independent movement, from the 1960s underground through the New Queer Cinema of the early '90s to the post-[[Feature~V301840~Brokeback Mountain~brokebackmountain]] landscape of 2006. Interview subjects range from cultural commentator [[Performer~P51583~Michael Musto~michaelmusto]] and actors [[Performer~P16130~Alan Cumming~alancumming]] and [[Performer~P43934~Jane Lynch~janelynch]] to directors [[Performer~P49681~John Cameron Mitchell~johncameronmitchell]], [[Performer~P99949~Jennie Livingston~jennielivingston]], and [[Performer~P235762~Randy Barbato~randybarbato]]. Fabulous! The Story of Queer Cinema made its bow July 16, 2006, on the Independent Film Channel. ~ Brian J. Dillard, Rovi

Crew

Lisa Ades
Director
Lisa Ades
Producer
Lisa Ades
Screenwriter
John Pirozzi
Cinematographer
Ruben O'Malley
Cinematographer
Rachel Reichman
Editor
Tammie Rhee
Co-producer
Jessica Wolfson
Associate Producer
Alison Palmer Bourke
Executive Producer
Tim Stubelek
Sound/Sound Designer
Claudia Katayanagi
Sound/Sound Designer
Andrea French
Sound/Sound Designer
Caleb Mose
Sound/Sound Designer
Henry Adebonojo
Additional Cinematography
Sophie Constantinou
Additional Cinematography
Advertisement

Other movies like this