Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Excalibur Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P82431~John Boorman~johnboorman]] directed this gloriously savage interpretation of Arthurian legend loosely based on [[Performer~P318133~Thomas Malory~thomasmalory]]'s novel Le Morte d'Arthur. By turns gleaming and filthy, tender and bloody, the film is a visually stunning epic which is never less than compelling. [[Performer~P70348~Nigel Terry~nigelterry]] is perfectly cast as Arthur, whose unwavering trust and faith are shown to be both quietly heroic and achingly naïve. Interestingly, the quest for the Grail is the least effective part of the film, despite bold cinematography by [[Performer~P114058~Alex Thomson~alexthomson]] (who was nominated for an Oscar) and a fine performance by [[Performer~P26437~Paul Geoffrey~paulgeoffrey]] as Perceval, whose greatest desire is attained in his dying sight. It is the scenes of Camelot in which [[Performer~P82431~Boorman~johnboorman]] is at his most effective, as Arthur is betrayed by the burning passions of Guenevere ([[Performer~P43818~Cherie Lunghi~cherielunghi]]) and Lancelot ([[Performer~P13541~Nicholas Clay~nicholasclay]]), whose boiling internal forces cannot be denied, whatever the cost. The wicked Mordred ([[Performer~P351~Robert Addie~robertaddie]]) and Morgana ([[Performer~P49576~Helen Mirren~helenmirren]]) are commanding when onscreen, and [[Performer~P76596~Nicol Williamson~nicolwilliamson]]'s performance as the grandiosely self-sacrificing Merlin is outstanding. [[Performer~P52070~Liam Neeson~liamneeson]] and [[Performer~P68265~Patrick Stewart~patrickstewart]] also appear in this dense, passionate, and stirring triumph featuring a marvelous [[Performer~P212212~Trevor Jones~trevorjones]] score. The gruesome effects by [[Performer~P95273~Peter Hutchinson~peterhutchinson]] and [[Performer~P116569~Alan Whibley~alanwhibley]], however, and sights such as a knight having sex in full body armor make this a fairy tale strictly for adults. ~ Robert Firsching, Rovi

  • Release date:April 10, 1981

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Alex Thomson Best Cinematography 1981 Nominee
Cannes Film Festival John Boorman Best Artistic Contribution 1981 Winner

Cast

Nigel Terry
as King Arthur
Nicol Williamson
as Merlin
Helen Mirren
as Morgana
Cherie Lunghi
as Guenevere
Paul Geoffrey
as Perceval
Robert Addie
as Mordred
Gabriel Byrne
as Uther
Keith Buckley
as Uryens
Katrine Boorman
as Igrayne
Liam Neeson
as Gawain
Corin Redgrave
as Cornwall
Liam O'Callaghan
as Sadok
Niall O'Brien
as Kay
Garrett Keogh
as Mador
Patrick Stewart
as Leondegrance
Ciarán Hinds
as Lot
Barbara Byrne
as Young Morgana
Brid Brennan
as Lady in Waiting
Charley Boorman
as Boy Mordred
Clive Swift
as Ector
Emmet Bergin

Crew

John Boorman
Director
John Boorman
Producer
John Boorman
Screenwriter
Rospo Pallenberg
Screenwriter
Thomas Malory
Book Author
Alex Thomson
Cinematographer
Trevor Jones
Composer (Music Score)
Donn Cambern
Editor
Anthony Pratt
Production Designer
Tim Hutchinson
Art Director
Bertram Tyrer
Art Director
Michael Dryhurst
Associate Producer
Edgar Gross
Executive Producer
Bob Ringwood
Costume Designer
Gerry Johnston
Special Effects
Peter Hutchinson
Special Effects
Alan Whibley
Special Effects
David Murphy
First Assistant Director
Barry Blackmore
First Assistant Director
John Lawlor
First Assistant Director
Terry English
Consultant/advisor
Anthony Van Laast
Choreography
Mary Selway
Casting
Ron Davis
Supervising Sound Editor
Anna Dryhurst
Makeup
Basil Newall
Makeup
Advertisement