Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Eve's Bayou Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

A young girl learns some difficult lessons about truth, love, and fidelity in this critically-acclaimed Southern gothic drama. Eve Batiste ([[Performer~P230850~Jurnee Smollett~jurneesmollett]]) is a ten-year-old girl whose father Louis ([[Performer~P34866~Samuel L. Jackson~samuelljackson]]) is a successful and well-liked doctor in an African-American community in Louisiana. Louis is a good father and an excellent provider, but he also has a way of attracting the ladies, and he's not inclined to turn them away. One night, the Batistes hold a party, and Eve, her older sister Cisely ([[Performer~P230446~Meagan Good~meagangood]]), and their mother Roz ([[Performer~P75986~Lynn Whitfield~lynnwhitfield]]) all notice that Louis is spending a great deal of time dancing with the same woman. Eve later spies her father and the woman in an embrace in the carriage house, though Louis unconvincingly claims that nothing untoward was happening. The evidence of Louis' infidelity takes a toll on the entire family: Cisely, who at age 14 is walking the middle-ground between being a girl and a woman, becomes sullen and confused about her new emotions, Roz takes out her frustrations on her loved ones, and Eve visits Elzora ([[Performer~P11302~Diahann Carroll~diahanncarroll]]), a voodoo priestess, looking for advice and possibly revenge. Meanwhile, Eve's Aunt Mozelle ([[Performer~P50574~Debbi Morgan~debbimorgan]]), who claims to have psychic powers, arrives to stay with the family after the death of her third husband, though she isn't lonely for long after meeting the eccentric Julien Greyraven ([[Performer~P16313~Vondie Curtis-Hall~vondiecurtishall]]). Eve's Bayou was the first project as writer-director for actress [[Performer~P41757~Kasi Lemmons~kasilemmons]]; leading man [[Performer~P34866~Samuel L. Jackson~samuelljackson]] also co-produced. ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:November 7, 1997

Awards

Awarded by
Nominee
Category
Year
Status
Broadcast Film Critics Association Jurnee Smollett Best Child Performance 1997 Winner
National Board of Review Kasi Lemmons Best Debut Director 1997 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Kasi Lemmons Best First Feature 1997 Winner
Chicago Film Critics Association Debbi Morgan Best Supporting Actress 1997 Winner
Independent Spirit Awards Debbi Morgan Best Supporting Actress 1997 Winner

Cast

Jurnee Smollett
as Eve Batiste
Meagan Good
as Cisely Batiste
Samuel L. Jackson
as Louis Batiste
Lynn Whitfield
as Roz Batiste
Debbi Morgan
as Mozelle Batiste Delacroix
Ethel Ayler
as Gran Mere
Diahann Carroll
as Elzora
Vondie Curtis-Hall
as Julian Grayraven
Roger Guenveur Smith
as Lenny Mereaux

Crew

Kasi Lemmons
Director
Samuel L. Jackson
Producer
Caldecot "Cotty" Chubb
Producer
Kasi Lemmons
Screenwriter
Amy Vincent
Cinematographer
Terence Blanchard
Composer (Music Score)
Terilyn A. Shropshire
Editor
Jeffrey Howard
Production Designer
Adele Plauche
Art Director
Jay Polstein
Co-producer
Cevin Cathell
Co-producer
Margaret Matheson
Executive Producer
Michael Bennett
Executive Producer
Joanne Schmidt
Set Designer
Karyn Wagner
Costume Designer
Benjamin Patrick
Sound/Sound Designer
Jaki Brown-Karman
Casting
Advertisement