Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: TBD

Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Sex, But Were Afraid to Ask Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]'s in-name-only adaptation of the once notorious sexual reference guide by Dr. David Reuben contains seven episodes based on "helpful" questions answered in the book. In "Do Aphrodisiacs Work?", [[Performer~P79388~Allen~woodyallen]] appears as a court jester who uses a love potion to spark the erotic interests of the Queen ([[Performer~P59204~Lynn Redgrave~lynnredgrave]]). "What Is Sodomy?" stars [[Performer~P116771~Gene Wilder~genewilder]] as a doctor who throws away his marriage, career, and position in the community when he falls madly in love with an Armenian sheep named Daisy. "Why Do Some Women Have Trouble Reaching Orgasm?" is a parody of stylish Italian films of the '60s in which a slick playboy ([[Performer~P79388~Woody Allen~woodyallen]]) discovers his wife ([[Performer~P40680~Louise Lasser~louiselasser]]) can climax only when they make love in public places. In "Are Transvestites Homosexuals?," Sam ([[Performer~P34896~Lou Jacobi~loujacobi]]) has his little secret revealed at a most inopportune moment. "What Are Sex Researchers Actually Accomplishing?" features [[Performer~P11228~John Carradine~johncarradine]] in a great parody of his mad-scientist roles as Dr. Bernardo, whose research into human sexuality has led to a fearsome mutation -- a 50-foot tall female breast! "What Are Sexual Perversions?" takes us to a broadcast of the popular game show What's My Perversion?, in which [[Performer~P4261~Jack Barry~jackbarry]] leads a panel of celebrities (including [[Performer~P56513~Regis Philbin~regisphilbin]] and [[Performer~P42250~Robert Q. Lewis~robertqlewis]]) in guessing the erotic obsessions of their guests. And "What Happens During Ejaculation?" takes the audience inside the body of a man in the throes of passion; The Brain ([[Performer~P58720~Tony Randall~tonyrandall]]) guides the body's functions, with the help of his assistant ([[Performer~P108069~Burt Reynolds~burtreynolds]]), while [[Performer~P79388~Allen~woodyallen]] plays a nervous sperm cell not sure if he can make the big jump. While the quality of the episodes is uneven, the best rank with the funniest moments of [[Performer~P79388~Allen~woodyallen]]'s career, especially [[Performer~P116771~Gene Wilder~genewilder]]'s touching romance with the sheep ("I think we can make this work, Daisy") and the final sequence inside the male body ("What if he's only masturbating? I'll end up on the ceiling somewhere!"). ~ Mark Deming, Rovi

  • Release date:August 6, 1972

Cast

Woody Allen
as Victor
Woody Allen
as Fool
Woody Allen
as Fabrizio
Woody Allen
as Cowardly Sperm
John Carradine
as Dr. Bernardo
Anthony Quayle
as The King
Lynn Redgrave
as Queen
Lou Jacobi
as Sam
Gene Wilder
as Dr. Ross
Louise Lasser
as Gina
Burt Reynolds
as Switchboard
Tony Randall
as The Operator
Titos Vandis
as Milos
Heather MacRae
as Helen
Robert Q. Lewis
as Himself
Stanley Adams
as Stomach Operator
Jack Barry
as Himself
Tom Mack
as Football Player
Oscar Beregi
as Brain Controller
Alan Caillou
as The Fool's Father
Regis Philbin
as Himself
Marcy Goldman
Toni Holt
as Herself
Robert Walden
as Sperm
Ref Sanchez
as Igor
Elaine Giftos
as Mrs. Ross
Jay Robinson
as The Priest
Sidney Miller
as George
Baruch Lumet
as Rabbi Baumel
Geoffrey Holder
as The Sorceror

Crew

Woody Allen
Director
Jack Brodsky
Producer
Charles H. Joffe
Producer
Woody Allen
Screenwriter
Mundell Lowe
Composer (Music Score)
Eric Albertson
Editor
Dale Hennesy
Production Designer
Jack Grossberg
Associate Producer
Marvin March
Set Designer
Terry Carr
First Assistant Director
Fred T. Gallo
First Assistant Director
Advertisement