Share

Watch It

On DVD: Now | On Blu-ray: Now

Ever After Details

FULL SYNOPSIS

[[Performer~P113841~Andy Tennant~andytennant]] directed this Cinderella variant. The Brothers Grimm arrive at the home of a wealthy Grande Dame ([[Performer~P103455~Jeanne Moreau~jeannemoreau]]) who speaks of the many legends surrounding the fable of the cinder girl before telling the "true" story of her ancestor. In flashback, the story then focuses on eight-year-old Danielle, daughter of a wealthy widower, a 16th-century landowner. After returning to France with his new wife Rodmilla ([[Performer~P34131~Anjelica Huston~anjelicahuston]]) and her two daughters, he dies of a heart attack. Ten years later, Danielle ([[Performer~P4289~Drew Barrymore~drewbarrymore]]) is now treated as a servant by the trio. Fortunately, she has an encounter with Prince Henry ([[Performer~P223574~Dougray Scott~dougrayscott]]), who is fleeing an arranged marriage. Later, when Danielle poses as a Lady, the Prince takes an interest in her. Inventor-artist Leonardo da Vinci ([[Performer~P27356~Patrick Godfrey~patrickgodfrey]]), accepting the French court's patronage, offers advice to Prince Henry on matters of the heart. [[Performer~P89582~George Fenton~georgefenton]]'s music adds an accompaniment to the lush look of this period romance. ~ Bhob Stewart, Rovi

  • Release date:July 29, 1998

Cast

Drew Barrymore
as Danielle
Anjelica Huston
as Rodmilla
Dougray Scott
as Prince Henry
Patrick Godfrey
as Leonardo da Vinci
Megan Dodds
as Marguerite
Melanie Lynskey
as Jacqueline
Jeanne Moreau
as Grande Dame
Timothy West
as King Francis
Judy Parfitt
as Queen Marie
Jeroen Krabbé
as Auguste
Lee Ingleby
as Gustave
Kate Lansbury
as Paulette
Matyelok Gibbs
as Louise
Richard O'Brien
as Pierre Le Pieu
Toby Jones
as Page

Crew

Andy Tennant
Director
Tracey Trench
Producer
Mireille Soria
Producer
Rick Parks
Screenwriter
Susannah Grant
Screenwriter
Andy Tennant
Screenwriter
Andrew Dunn
Cinematographer
George Fenton
Composer (Music Score)
Roger Bondelli
Editor
Michael Howells
Production Designer
David Allday
Supervising Art Director
Timothy M. Bourne
Co-producer
Kevin Reidy
Co-producer
Melissa Cobb
Associate Producer
Judy Farr
Set Designer
Jenny Beavan
Costume Designer
Simon Kaye
Sound/Sound Designer
Scott Printz
First Assistant Director
Priscilla John
Casting
Lucinda Syson
Casting
Advertisement